Captain Nino - A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


I was thinking I haven’t submitted a @tasteem review for a while, and then what do I see, a ‘My favourite dessert’ contest announcement.

So now I have something to review but it’s not quite as straightforward as that.

IMG_6456.jpg

Last Saturday @bingbabe announced that she was hungry (an ever-recurring subject) and that she would like some takeaway Italian food.

Having got tired of the local haunts I tracked down Captain Nemo's in Padiham, Lancashire.

This is the takeaway part of the restaurrant, Mamma Mia Crossroads.

IMG_6455.jpg


'It all happens behind these doors'

Great reviews on TripAdvisor, sit in and takeaway too. But this is not a dessert review you say? Not yet but read on.

IMG_6466.JPG

What I noticed about their takeaway menu were the prices. Everything was so cheap, and yet the reviews were good. Had I found a gem?

We ordered Spaghetti Bolognaise x 2, Garlic Pizza with Cheese, Italian Chicken with herbs, Chips and Garlic Mushrooms. I called, placed the order and went to collect the food.

It was dark when I arrived at the rambling house that was part restaurant and part take away. Entering the building I spotted some cakes.

IMG_6454.jpg

Cakes and Italian takeaway don’t seem synonymous to me, but I was thinking, ‘those look nice’.

The bill for the food was around £23 which I still find astonishing considering the amount we ordered.

Impulsively I ordered a Lemon Drizzle Cheesecake and a Chocolate Fudge Cake as I know @dismayedworld loves this.

IMG_6460.jpg

It was £2 each for the cakes and considering the size of the slab, especially the Chocolate Fudge Cake, I thought this cheap.

As with the food, everything was packed in plastic containers. They offered to give me cream with the cakes, but this may have made them a little sloppy and so I declined.

Being cheap is all very well but if the food is like eating cardboard then it's not much good.

Without being too negative, the chicken was dry as a bone but very large and meaty, maybe some gravy or sauce would have helped but I left a large portion of it.

IMG_6464.jpg

I received the reports from @bingbabe that the Spaghetti Bolognaise was a little watery but she consumed most of it; there was no report from @dismayedworld.

IMG_6459.jpg

The Garlic Pizza with Cheese looked appetising but did not taste as good as it looked. We did finish it though it took two days for it to disappear.

IMG_6461.jpg

The Mushrooms did not taste like mushrooms at all. Maybe they had used a taste extractor? The chips were well, just chips.

IMG_6462.jpg

This review is for the desserts but i have included the savouries snaps anyway.

IMG_6463.jpg

We did eat most of the savouries even the though the quality was average at best, and so the cakes were left until the next day and placed in the fridge.

If you think I’m being negative, it does get better. The cakes were great!

I can't personally speak for the Chocolate Fudge Cake as it mysteriously vanished the next day, likely down @dismayedworld's throat at a very good guess. A shame as I did want to try it.

The Lemon Drizzle Cheesecake was something else. Sometimes cheesecake can be quite sickly but not with this one.

IMG_6458.jpg

Maybe Captain Nemo’s can’t make savouries, but I think I may be dropping by again for some of that cake.

Next time I will hide the Chocolate Fudge Cake until I get just a little piece.


Restaurant Information


Captain Nino
score
Crossways, Whalley Rd, Padiham, Burnley BB12 8JR, UK


Captain Nino - A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest My favourite dessert


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

That is too bad that the food wasn't up to your expectations. At least you didn't pay a ton for it given the quality of it. The desserts look fantastic though and I am glad that those at least made up for a little bit of the let down of the other food. Nice review as always!

Just had takeaway battered hake & chips for the equivalent of £5 for enough to feed two...milady enjoyed her half, barely finishing it and I will see it through till breakfast. The cheesecake and carrot cake and chocolate cake @£1.50 coffee shop across the street was closed already, unfortunately, but just as well. We shared a quart for £1.60 sitting out the 15 minutes kitchen time at a bar a block down the road.

I will disclose that this was in a quiet coastal village, but for the rest of the address you will have to bribe me i'm afraid...the more the feet, the higher the prices go, unfortunately.

Sorry pal, but a person has to survive you know!

(If you are willing to pay your way down to the middle of the Southern coast of Africa honouring us with your presence, my heart might just soften to the point of a sit-down at my cost though.)

I didnt know you could buy such an English dish in deepeset Africa! Sounds good to me, Im a little partial to the old F&C.

Colonial heritage, I guess. Half a century+ ago it was mostly hard working Portuguese immigrants that ran the F&C shops, while our (RSA) culture was predominantly shaped by Dutch, French and British influences.

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

A pity the food wasnt up to Par but at least the deserts sound so good

It looks so cosy and inviting there and the desserts look scrumptious! I would like the Lemon Drizzle Cheesecake please;)

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't know about the cosy bit but the cheesecake hit the spot!

At least you made the most of it, great review even if the food was below expectations lol

Yeah, I try to entertain even if the food is a bit crappy. Stories are always better than a simple review arent they?

Nice! Looks authentic!

Slobberchops is the original tasteem kingpin

Posted using Partiko iOS

That chocolate fudge cake is so moist based on the picture alone. I'm drooling!

I love lemon cheesecake so I'm happy to hear that at least that one was tasty :D

What a shame. The owner of our old Indian takeaway/restaurant used to ask customers to eat in as his view wars takeaway food is always substandard. It’s apparently the process of it steaming in the containers - saying that doubt that made a difference to your chicken.

It always seems to taste better eating in. There is a difference and I have noticed it more than one place.

All those plastic containers.., not really good for the environment. They must cost some too.

One would think Slobberchops would want some sloppy cream with his cake. 2 Quid is a fantastic deal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62521.03
ETH 3025.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97