The Palazzo - A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


It was the 14th of October when we decided to visit The Palazzo, an Italian restaurant in Burnley, Lancashire. Some time ago you might say?

IMG_4342.jpg

Yes, it has taken me almost 2 months to do this write-up, that's what Steemfest does to you.. it takes all your time.

Some of my none STEEM friends and @bingbabe have visited The Palazzo so it wasn't a case of ‘hope for the best', they didn't say bad things about it, actually, they were reasonably positive.

My initial thoughts were, ‘this used to be a bank’. The architecture shows it was once a place to transfer money.

Some old banks have been converted into restaurants in other towns and cities and they usually make a good job of doing so.

IMG_4344.jpg

It was Sunday and so the traditional ‘roast’ was available, it was always an option but I don’t feel it’s a particularly healthy one.

IMG_4345.jpg

IMG_4347.jpg

We were ushered through the bar area and into what would have been the back room at the old bank.

IMG_4348.jpg

The décor was very tasteful with high ceilings and marble pillars.

IMG_4349.jpg

IMG_4350.jpg

We were given menus and I decided to keep it simple and ordered a Pizza Funghi at £10, whereas @bingbabe ordered the Tagliatelle at £14. We also ordered a ‘Gran Piatto Mediter' as a starter to share.

This is a long wooden plate with several items including breadsticks, hummus, peppers and other things which are best described in a photograph.

I also decided to get a bowl of chips with my main course; not the brightest idea in retrospect, but I’ll come to why later.

IMG_4351.jpg

For drinks, a Pepsi worked for me; @bingbabe tried to order a mocktail but the waiter's English was not good enough for her to understand and she ended up with a very alcoholic ‘Rossini'. It looked nice but had a bit of a bite.

IMG_4354.jpg

Speaking of the waiter, he was a little strange and kept looking over at us, if anything being a little over attentive but not in a friendly way. It didn’t get my back up; I just thought he was weird.

IMG_4355.jpg

The food was quickly delivered, and I didn’t find myself looking at my phone in anticipation.

The ‘Gran Piatto Mediter’ was delivered and it did deliver! Very tasty and filling, but this was the problem.

IMG_4358.jpg

The main courses arrived and I found the pizza to be a little plain though it looked nice.

IMG_4356.jpg

@bingbabe had already been to ‘The Palazzo' before knew what to expect with the Tagliatelle and was suitably impressed.

The chips.. oh I wish I had not ordered them. There was nothing really wrong with these large chunks of fried potato except I don’t really like hulking lumps where one chip is an effort to eat.

IMG_4357.jpg

With the starter and the pizza I didn’t have an awful lot of space left so the chips got mostly left which was rather a shame.

IMG_4359.jpg

The tab came to £44 which I suppose isn’t too bad for a meal for two with a starter to share and drinks.

I guess I am a little particular about my restaurants and although The Palazzo isn’t a bad one, it is not somewhere I will be revisiting in the near future.

IMG_4360.jpg

Just before I left, I couldn't resist this snap of the Gents' toilet sign, it did make me smile.


Restaurant Information


The Palazzo
score
10 Grimshaw St, Burnley BB11 2AS, UK


The Palazzo - A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Everything in this restaurant looks good except the chips. The chips are indeed not impressive.

Thanks for sharing the taste with @tasteem
#tasteem-curation

Yes, that about sums it up! I really dont like big chips and being too full didnt make it any better.

Oh man, I can't believe you turned down the roast! I think I would have gone straight for that! Anyway, it is a pretty good looking building! The only thing I would have to ask, is if it was pretty loud in there? With all the hard surfaces?

Not noisy at all, there was barely a soul in there. Doesn't speak volumes for the place I say.

Pity, it looks good.... but if the food isn't up to scratch then looks aren't everything!

Literally every dish looked extremely good. It's been a long time since I've actually seen such decent Italian food (most of the places around here are not too great).

Really weird that the pizza wasn't that great. It sure looked great :P

The pizza was OK, but sometimes things look better than they taste. I would say the place was better than average but I'm a fussy bugger when it comes to restaurants!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 332 (12/06/18)

the men's room sign is funny.. looks like he has to go
Do you have unisex restrooms over there?
That pizza is beautiful. Polish pizza .. :)

Do you have unisex restrooms over there?

We don't, do you?

I have noticed more and more that we get lady cleaners in the mens more that we used too. That is prevalent n Europe but only recently in the UK.

The law here... some States over here are not too clear about public bathrooms in the schools.
Used to be on the news all the time.
I have seen some all unisex and some have both plus unisex.

Seeing men in dresses that don't shave at least some of that hair off drives me crazy.
So basically it is unisex for individual toilets and men or women for more than one stall at most everywhere.

The venue looks a bit odd, and that waiter! Creepy! But the food looks excellent. I love mushrooms and the pizza looks lovely - though the tagliatelle looks even better. I'll probably go there if I'm ever in Burnley (unlikely!). But I wouldn't go with a teetotaller.

A few have said it looks great, but honesty.. it looked better that it tasted.

It's a nice environment and the conversion has been done very well, although I imagine it could be very noisy in there when the restaurant is full. I've had that problem with the sharing plates, especially if you are very hungry when you arrive at the restaurant! Shame about the chips :(

You know it is authentic when the waiter only speaks Italian and they insist on alcohol in the appetiser. At least the grey light outside is genuine British.

Wow! That looks pretty interesting. Too bad the pizza didn't have much flavor though. Maybe the waiter was thinking "who orders chips with pizza? This guy is shady" and that is why he kept looking at you :) We had a bank that was turned into a restaurant down the road from me. They had a private dining area in the old vault and you could reserve it for a special experience. It has long since closed, and I never went there, but I always thought the concept was kind of cool.

It was one of those OK places, there are many like this.. just OK but I don't want OK places. Good ones are hard to find, I will keep trying.

I meant to say the dish that @bingbabe got looked fantastic. There are some places that I really enjoy going to, but I have found over there years that some things just taste better when you cook them yourself at home. For example. It has been a long time since I have had a steak at a restaurant that is better than one I can grill myself at home.

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.172 which ranks you at #2985 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 210 contributions, your post is ranked at #180.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01