Chilis - Restaurant Review

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


Today is Saturday and my brother visited me after an year. I was thinking the whole past week about where should I take him out to eat. I asked some of my friends and I got Chilis as one of the suggestions. Earlier too, I have heard in office that this place offers great food so I finally decided to visit it with my brother since great food is exactly what I was looking for. But honestly, I disliked the place - the ambience, the food, the staff - everything was bad. I am not sure why is it rated so good on all the websites and even by real people.

One of the possible reasons I can sense is that I visited it in daytime and most of the places lighten up at night, but is it supposed to be like this?

  • NO, a good place is supposed to be good, no matter what day, what time you visit.

Their staff was literally staring us eat. Who does that? I don't think it was waiter's courtesy to stare and take care of us - I am so embarrassed for what I expected to be good experience with my brother turned out a bad one, I should have gone to some place I have been to before. So that's my lesson for today, if you are going out with someone special, DO NOT I REPEAT NO DOT experiment with the place, only go to a place you have trust on.


Let's see the place

The place is located in one of the largest shopping malls of Asia Continent and the largest shopping mall of India - Ambience Mall. The restaurant's name is Chilis - Like multiple chili.

This is how the place looks from outside in the mall:

7CCCA0AA-138A-40CB-BB28-283D2889CB48.jpeg

This is how the place looks from inside. Notice how the place is loaded on a Saturday noon. I am seriously surprised by the place's popularity with the trashy experience that I had.

F77F08D2-61B3-454D-8AFA-0EA2B7FE7AE5.jpeg

This is me with my brother, waiting for our order.

D750905F-B311-4E64-A710-0433F0343E2E.jpeg

The ambience of the place was fine. Given it is inside one of the largest malls in Asia, I was expecting more here. These day, retro themed restaurant are on top, I respect the fact that its not necessary to follow the trends. But to personally, the took of the place was an off. I hated their table carpets, they made the food look dull, you will clearly see in my pizza picture.

Ambience Rating - 2/5

Let's see the food

Lets first talk about their menu. Their menu was huge and had varieties of all kinds, so no dislike here. The prices were high than usual but given the popularity of the place - the price bar was acceptable.

The food was not good at all.

We ordered a white sauce pasta. The sauce was sticky and so heavy, the pasta was a bit raw to me and I particularly did not like the way they sprinkled those bits of nachos on pasta. That spoiled the taste altogether since I was having those hard crumbs in my mouth with every bite of pasta.

C6AF0F3C-C0D7-409F-834E-15474F2899EE.jpeg

Then the wheat base pizaa was weird, it was something a novice cook would make. I did not like the toppings. they were so basic. I was expecting a fancy top notch pizza for 800 INR. Total waste of money.

45D9A117-48EB-4BF7-8B5C-A00C6DD70FE6.jpeg

Then the drinks which sure does look good were worst than all. They were so thick, nothing like a drink but a pudding for a kid. My brother and I left the drinks, money waste.

5C2E64E0-3E59-4352-A058-7B9E467985F9.jpeg

I am the sort of person who would called the waiter and the manager, made them note everything and then leave the place after paying bill. But my brother is shy and introvert type of person, so I kept quite and acted as If it was all good. I did not want to create an embarrassing experience for my brother, so yeah, deep sigh.

Menu Rating - 4/5


Price Rating - 3/5


Food Rating - 2/5


Overall

I would honestly not suggest this place to anyone, not even the people I dislike. We go out to eat good fancy food for a change and when you feel cheated by a restaurant over the pricing and food, you feel bad.

The place is higly overrated. Their food and customer service was zero, prices were high than that of an average restaurant.


Restaurant Information


Chilis
score
NH 8, Ambience Island, DLF Phase 3, Sector 24, Gurugram, Haryana 122002, India


Chilis - Restaurant Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Beverages with friends


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Hi, dear. Your review is great. But unfortunately, this review is more suitable for "Your Weekly Choice" than "Beverages With Friend"

For next time, make sure to not add wrong category. If you want to make sure, you can ask me on Discord.

This time, you can keep your rewards.

#tasteem-hide

I will reach out to you on discord since it was very confusing to decide, thank you :)

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Beverages with friends> Contest . Thanks to @vibesforlife, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Sounds about right. I like some things from Chili's but their food is certainly cheap and you are better off going to a real restaurant, not a chain restaurant

The place looks really tacky, not like any Chili's I've been to. I'm sure your menu is different than ours, but your pasta looks very wrong. I usually get what's called Cajun Chicken Pasta and there are tomatoes on it, but not that other stuff. The other stuff looks like what they put in the tortilla soup.

I'm like you if I am that dissatisfied I say something. They always offer a replacement, but by that time I don't want to eat anymore. Or at least not there. I do give places a 2nd chance, after a bit to redeem themselves since you never know what was going on behind the scenes.

Great review @vibesforlife. It's straightforward and honest.

Exactly, the place is so popular, but it was such a disappointment for me. I was also thinking it might be a possibility, that something was going behind the scenes that day among the management and the staff that might have resulted in such a off experience.

thanks for stopping by.

Awww, that really sucks that you guys had a bad experience there. Thank you for being honest with us with your review. I hope you find a better restaurant next time. May you have a great week ahead!

Yeah hoping a better restro next time, thanks for stopping by :)

What an experience. I thought the drink would be the saving grace but a drink that's like a pudding? Tsk. It's interesting that's the place is packed though. I wonder what experience they had.

Yeah drink like a pudding was yuck, you can see the thick part collected in the bottom of glasses. I wonder the same, what experience are people having here.

Ah yes, I can see it. Makes me wonder what are their food and drinks made of

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93