A Zeke Tasteem Review! - WVRST

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image

Too Many Consonants?

IMG_5343.jpg

It was a cold and blustery day in the big city. Zeke gets the call from @parabyte that it was lunch time and he knew just where to go.

This place has awesome beer and great fries & dipping sauce and ......

You had me at beer!

IMG_5330.jpg

https://www.wvrst.com/
With its trendy King St location, it was bound to be something different and a unique dining experience.

IMG_5331.jpg

The entrance looks a little like a typical King St exclusive nightclub and you can see a mysterious figure reflected in the window taking a picture of the entrance.

IMG_5333.jpg

The place is a real neat second floor area with some picnic style seating and a whole bunch of long tables with stools. The ordering area is to the rear and you can see the kitchen right behind the counter as the guys create the food. The deli counter is nice and I have never seen so many varieties of artisan sausage in my life so lets look at the menu.

IMG_5334.jpg

There is a lot going on here so you may want to enlarge the picture to see what I saw!

Step 1 is choosing your sausage of choice. Funny how they put the Game section first and makes you wonder where they source some of the Kangaroo or Wild boar......let alone how much demand they would have for that.
Step 2 is to choose yout toppings and whether you want it on a fresh baked bun or with a pretzel.
Step 3 is a must which is opting for some of the awesome fries and your choice of dipping sauces. You can either select the normal fries or the dirty fries which also come with toppings.

Can I start you off with something to drink?

IMG_5335.jpg

Absolutely! Look at all of those obscure and varied beer options to satisfy the most nerd-forward hipster you can imagine! Long time followers of my blog will recognize names I have celebrated like Sawdust City Brewery, Indie Ale House, Nickelbrook, and others all there aas well as many more. There didn't seem to be a plethora of IPAs as I tend to enjoy but that is probably the hipster crowd who want the latest sour jalapeno brut brown sugar stout.

IMG_5336.jpg

We went for a nice mango tasting Vermont Style IPA and they served it in a wine style glass for whatever reason. Turned out tasting really good though it felt shy of a pint!

IMG_5339.jpg

As for the food, we both love the spice and went for the Tamshire Barese sausage topped with onions and jalapenos. This is an offering from Perth Farms Heritage Pork highlighted by parsley, chili and padano cheese.

@brittandjosie suggested I might enjoy spicy a little too much and consider changing my name to @zekepepperman.

IMG_5337.jpg

The meal arrived on a big platter like at a cafeteria with the big cone of fries in the middle and the dipping sauces which were really tasty. We went for the Chive & Garlic, and the Wvrst spicy sauce.

IMG_5338.jpg

The Taps/Bar

IMG_5340.jpg

With that many taps and options, we really had to have a second beer. Besides that, it is lunch with Zeke and you MIGHT just have a couple beers.

IMG_5342.jpg

26 beers on tap and not one bullshit Molson or Labatt product! Bless you boys and girls!

IMG_5341.jpg

We went for the Dry-Hopped Sour which came in a more pint-like glass and had the same unfiltered hazy goodness. Equal parts sour and hoppy and refreshing as hell after the spicy sausages.

Zeke's Parting Thoughts

All in all, it was spicy, beery and very original. No boring old lunch here as the setting was unique, waitress was hot as the food, and company was great. I was a little taken aback by paying $45 for a couple of hot dogs with fries and beer but you pay for the uniqueness and experience. Thanks for paying @parabyte!

I would go back for sure and I would suggest you give it a try if you are in Toronto.

Please consider creating a restaurant review with @tasteem! Also, check out @detlev and the #beersaturday movement as well as @jeffjagoe and his awesome #steemfoodtours https://steemit.com/steemfoodtours/@jeffjagoe/steem-food-tours-weekly-digest-47

SiQni9EsHGr8Y5VLHLJc9G3gkbopRRV913HoWUVm1pfBcCipGt6rHJyFAT5qDBYNQnWWw5hKYjn1PFYDjMYmmTSNM7yDmDvVq2dBtd7GGRu4bUzqw8tSfHU61HRn2Dj8XvNjKMFSLHQwLwYx2ZZf8JTMY28nB5rXLcPDAnRAdz1pVNDKHXKEqVz4RsE9jX1CtJ2LHa.png


Restaurant Information


Wvrst - Sausage Hall and other wonders
score
609 King St W, Toronto, ON M5V 1M5, Canada


A Zeke Tasteem Review! - WVRST
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Whooa, a great review! Thanks for sharing with @tasteem. Don't forget to invite your friend to use Tasteem.

#tasteem-curation

Thanks! I invite them in every post.

Another neat thing you may enjoy is when I take pics and people look at me like I am a food photographing hipster, I just explain that I post em on tasteem and make money via steem blockchain.

Nor use seem to love that so hopefully tasteem. Will be the gateway for some folks to steem.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I went to a similar type of restaurant in eastern Europe, right? And they had a small wooden pretzel rack on the table... Those types of things are complimentary in the United Snakes, but there? I got charged a small fee for each pretzel I had. It was a bit tacky on their part to nickel and dime like that, but it made for an epic tale than I can tell over and over again for the rest of my non-eventful days!

Curmudgeons like us gonna...curmudge! I think they are huge pretzels like giant salted twisted bagels as an alternative to the bun.

Will have to try that next time to be sure.

Posted using Partiko iOS

As an Australian I can tell you Kangaroo is quite tasty, and yeah I'd say it's sourced from here because you can't farm kangaroos, they are caught wild (don't worry we have heaps of them)

I believe it! Here, that is so exotic which is why I highlighted it.

Can’t be farmed? I didn’t know that.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Man this looks like one good spot! The food and beer selection is on point.

It was good. A little pricey to go there all the time but it was a nice treat.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Awesome review of the place and weekend is still so far away. I want some fries,beer and hotdogs. You mentioned that the waitress was hot as the food lol, wish you have stolen some shots lol.

Haha you can see her in the panoramic shot. I didn’t wanna ogle but man was she something.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looks amazing.. and a well written review too. Good job Zeke

Ah thanks man! I try and keep it real in the winter time and weave a little funny into the normal stuff.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hmmm, I'll have a Danger Dog with Dirty Duck Fat Fries!
Nice post with all the pictures and explanations.
I've never been to a Sausage Hall.

There has to be a dirty joke associated with a sausage hall but I suggest going with the dirty duck fat fries too!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I was thinking the same thing. I almost put something else on there, lol. 😈

Great post and nice place..

Much appreciated!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @zekepickleman, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @zekepepperman doesn't exist on Steem. Maybe you made a typo ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Well there we go! I could have that one too.

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @zekepickleman, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30