Miguel's Mexican Restaurant - Chiang Mai: it's a winner!

in #tasteen5 years ago

I might be a bit biased because I am pretty sure that Mexican food and more specifically, Tex-Mex food, is likely my favorite on the planet. I was delighted to find out that my new city has eleven restaurants that specialize in Mexican food and this was the first one I have gone to. I will go to them all.

51762690_444332676108498_3538952064337969152_n.jpg

They have the full spectrum of Tex-Mex offerings including burritos, tacos (hard and soft), quesadillas, enchiladas, fajitas that come out on a hot skillet, guacamole, and of course nachos! They also have chili (con carne) and burgers in case someone foolishly went to a Mexican restaurant for a burger.

52426190_2451706298234253_478803280575594496_n.jpg

I went for the standard hard shell tacos with ground beef. The seasoning was perfect, it had the mexican flavor and just the right amount of heat. They had additional sauces on the table in the event that you like them spicy. For me, i think the spiciness was perfect the way it arrived from the kitchen. The shells were filled full and I actually had to use my knife to push the filling down a bit so they didn't spill out.

I found the presentation to be a bit boring but to be honest I don't really know what else they could do to spruce it up. I suppose they could have included some decorations but then again, you aren't going to eat that so why bother?

I was a little disappointed that sour cream was not available but to be fair, i don't think the lady knew what i was asking about.

52508102_793181527710087_8018386844196536320_n.jpg

I enjoyed the simplistic "cantina" look of the interior, and there was a nice garden seating area for larger tables that was just outside. There is no closed interior and this place is located right on one of the busiest roads in Chiang Mai so that might annoy some people. After more than a decade in Thailand I have grown accustomed to it - I don't' think I even notice the road noise anymore.

The beer was cheap and they had a wide selection of local and also Mexican brands - I think this is the first time I have seen Dos Equis Amber offered anywhere in Thailand. I didn't order one, but it is cool to have it as an option for the future.

I have to go to the others before I declare a "winner" and I will get to that eventually. My total bill for dinner including 1 beer was 274 Baht and I find that to be very reasonable considering how far away Mexico is.

here is their location, full menu, and also some reviews from other customers should anyone need that

Sort:  

My dear @gooddream your publications make me secrete saliva, hahaha! just like you love Mexican food, my favorites are burritos. As I don't like the spicy, I avoid the dishes that take it or I don't put them as dressing. The place you show us is very nice and cozy. A hug. Happy day!

Gosh! You have been in Chiangmai less than a week and you are pour and about surveying the city!!

You’ll get bored pretty soon for running out of things to review!!
Then you’ll have to move to Laos!! Haha!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think i could eat at a different restaurant for every meal for a year and still not get to all of the restaurants in this massive city :)

Oh! Please don’t forget to do more walking exercises!! Hahaha.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It is funny. No cheese sandwich at home for you! :)

my new condo doesn't really have a kitchen. It is surrounded by 10,000 restaurants though!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

That's nice of you for providing the link, I have been reading many of your reviews regarding restaurants lately. I have written my first review blog of restaurant, I will be glad If you spare out a little time and have a glance at it.
https://steemit.com/food/@praditya/my-first-ever-restaurant-review

Thank you:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99