Tatoo - Symbol or Fashion?

in #tattoo7 years ago

 A tattoo is a form of body modification where a design is made by inserting ink, dyes and pigments, either indelible or temporary, into the dermis layer of the skin to change the pigment. Tattoos fall into three broad categories: purely decorative (with no specific meaning); symbolic (with a specific meaning pertinent to the wearer); pictorial (a depiction of a specific person or item). Brought to Europe from Polynesia in the early 19th century through naval routes, it was originally largely restricted to naval use, and was a male-only domain. By the later 20th century its use was more widespread and extended to female users. By the end of the 20th many stigmas of the tattoo culture had gone and it moved into the realm of being a fashion accessory for both men and women.

Who has a tattoo today? Just a few people are still without a Tattoo nowaday. What does a tattoo mean for you? Symbol? Fashion? Art? A great event in your life to be remembered forever? Let's discuss about having a tattoo today.
 

Sort:  

Thank you very much! Do you have one?

Is this your tattoo? It looks awesome! Did it hurt and how long did it take? I always wanted a small one but i am afraid of the commitment and the pain :O

Hi, no I'm a man, this is a tattoo pic coming from the tattoo expo here in italy, I was there and tattoos aren't always painful, it depends by your sensibility and the part you choose to make one of them bt most of people are so satisfied after making one that ingore the pain. What tattoo do you like for yourself and why?

Oops haha Sorry for mistaking you as a woman :) I wanted a small tattoo behind the ear :D So you can still hide it with your hair if you are working! I heard that that spot ir more painful because the skin is thinner there and close to the skull :O So i could never get enough courage to do that! I will just admire the art on other people :D

My tattoos are symbols to me, it's not about fashion. I have two and they both mean something to me. Lately, I've been thinking about getting a third, but I am very torn between the many quotes I would like to get on my body. I once heard Ozzy Osborne saying people should not get inked because once you start you always want more!

I have a friend who started with one and now it's all covered and he always said to me to follow a rules: Tattoo must be always unequal in numbers...Still going to keep just two tattoos?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56