DTUBE VLOG // Steem Whale Wars, YT's New Censorship Law, Anarchy, Nihilism & My Worries.

in #tdube6 years ago


Hey Steemiacs and welcome to another video!
Today I wanted to bring up a few topics that were worrying me for the past few days.

Let's start with an email my bestie Alina from @theveganisland got from YouTube basically kicking her out of the partner program for not reaching a certain threshold. In my opinion this is a new step YT is taking to put the people down. I believe it comes from the recent adpocalypse where people get demonetized for everything they do, they ask for another review (which this time has to be done by a person and not a machine) and they can't spare the sources for small channels that don't reach the threshold.

It makes me sad to see these first steps that really put all of us creators down and there's no doubt in my mind that this is the just the beginning. It makes me so much more grateful for steemit, dtube and steepshot as this place is just so full of potential, and I am in the process of getting anyone I know on here.

But at the same time, I'm a little worried. I have trust issues in general, and when this week all I saw in the trending tab was this giant whale wars, I started freaking out. Whales were abusing the system in this way, this whale did this to this whale, blah blah blah. I was really discouraged to see all this drama here as well, and I remembered reading a comment on my first post saying that when anti LGBTQ+ groups come to steem and power up, they can flag me and vote me down and censor me in that way. And I guess it's true to everyone.

When I joined steemit I was really excited for a new platform that is being run by the people, with no censorship, powered by cryptocurrency and actually rewards creators and curators. I thought this could actually be the future with all of us working together to build a community and all that, but now I genuinely don't know if there can be a "perfect" anarchist, self governed online community.

Is the problem with steemit? Most likely not. I honestly think steem has the most potential out of all the social media platforms that ever came about, and I really think it's the closest thing we have to "perfect" as of now at least, but maybe there can't be a perfect platform cause humans aren't perfect. There's probably always gonna be someone that will abuse the power in some way and that sucks, but that's humanity I guess.

Is that enough of a reason for me to leave? Hell no! But I just wanted to share these thoughts and worries with ya'll. I would love to hear what you guys think of this subject! Leave me a comment bellow with your opinion and let's start a discussion!

Thanks for watching and reading <3
If you enjoyed this post I'd appreciate an upvote and a subscribe!
Love xx
Henya


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This is liberation in the making, You will always have people abusing the system. Whales and dolphins are for the birds, we should invest our time in #penguins (the birds) These are the people jumping off a cliff hoping to hit water. Without the birds there would be no whales.

Good video, but there is no reason to be a pessimist about people & humanity. Being different is the cause of drama, but where would we be without it? It entertains us and gets us to ponder the deeper meanings life and that is a good thing. I am here cause I am growing tired of youtube as well. Btw being up voted or down voted is not censorship as your video (and free speech) will still be there. Just like you get your opinion we all get ours. I am a fan of your topics today and will subscribe to see what else you post. Have a great day :-)

You’re awesome :-) you have the perfect vlogger personality and I believe you’ll have great success here. Keep doing what you’re doing and I believe you’ll be amazing. I’m going on birthright soon because I’m 25 and I’m so excited about it. I saw that you were is really in your first post and I may have commented and I’m not sure if you saw it. But I too am a vlogger and a musician and I’ve had great success on steemit it took me about five Months to have the type a success I have. My dream is to play music and blog for making a great living and being able to travel. I can safely say that I am in the process of achieving these goals and it’s never felt better. Good luck here and continue being consistent and you’ll do great.Feel free to follow me and connect and I’d love to collaborate with you one day. Have a great day and enjoy this life :-)

Saw this this morning, so crazy. I like the way you phrased it as "getting fired," because that's what it is -- being fired from what often serves as a part time job. It is within their right, but I definitely think it's going to drive more people to Dtube/Steemit in the next few weeks.

Its hard to fully trust Steemit/Dtube for some of these very reasons. It sounds like paradise in theory but is it? Example, a Whale can come along and down vote this video (assuming it works about the same as Steemit) and wipe that $70 off your video. You could invest real money into Steemit but its a relatively new Cryptocurrency that been on a downward trend for a while. Youtube isn't that bad as long as you're $2,000+ subs and over 4,000 hrs viewed (you have to stay above the minimum since YT increases it every year) otherwise it blows. This talk about not being heard is nonsense. Youtube isn't saying you can't post content, their just saying they want pay you for it unless it meets their guidelines.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69