Teachers, are you one too?

in #teaching7 years ago

I love teaching!

I am not a professional teacher but my wife works in the environment of teachers and I like to observe them. I see some remarkably good teachers, even some great teachers. There are also bad teachers who adversely affect their students. What makes a person a great teacher to you?

For me a couple of key elements are:

passion of the teacher.

passion generated in the student.

skill and knowledge of the teacher.

There are so many elements but to me, these are key.

Personally, for some strange reason, I love accounting. I believe I have been quite successful in helping various people who required accounting to qualify as lawyers, fellow accounting students and some MBA students involved in higher levels of the various disciplines. I have also helped quite a number of kids who were still at school.

IMG-20150319-WA000[1072].jpg
[about to embark on CTA in accounting, before the crap hits the fan - March 2015]

Yet not one of my four girls ever wanted anything to do with accounting! Whenever they were able to drop the subject, they did so with alacrity, even if they were able to do very well in their examinations. Not good for my ego as you would well imagine. When I asked them why, they said I was too loud and excitable, besides they loved the arts more.

I also love history and politics. Luckily for me, one of my girls has also developed a great passion for it (many of my books are residing in her room). She is also remarkably good at cooking. I followed her and also studied cooking because of her passion.

I also love literature, particularly science fiction and fantasy, and a book has to be next to my bed at all times. Here too, one other daughter has developed a great passion for reading and she loves some of the same authors that I do (she firmly states that all my books will be hers when I die).

All members of my family are passionate readers.

My eldest has developed an appreciation for chess, although she cannot develop her skills too far as she is studying medicine. She picked up the love for the game from my love for the game. She still uses the piano for recreation like her sisters.
046.jpg
[relaxing at home...]

My youngest is a real cocky punk who refuses to show an interest in anything that I do (I hope she is pretending but I am probably delusional), I continually try to show her the new things I have uncovered in maths, but she does not even deign to look at what I have learnt on Khan’s Academy. She is really good at the subject and is doing university level maths as an extra subject while still at high school. My stated aim while learning maths is to know more than she does, but it seems to be a losing battle. I really want to make her humble but all I see is a long dark tunnel ahead of me coming second.

So teaching is a passion for me, strictly amateur though. I love learning although it has never really put any bread on the table. I was never a good student, but my girls are really disciplined at their studies. My example is the key in the lives of others, not so much what comes out of my mouth (I talk too much and that makes me a poor teacher, why don’t I listen more?)

So everyone is a teacher, whether they want to be or not. People are teaching others all the time, by word, by opinion and by deed. I now find the most interesting thing of all, is to see what is on Steemit. Disinformation is the new standard of our planet’s media, their agendas usually have truth way down on their scale of priorities. Steemit bloggers are more honest (and interesting) than what can be found in the “news” from most professional correspondents.

Do you remember the teachers who really impacted you? I remember one in particular. My first great teacher was a history teacher while a ten-year-old at Welkom Preparatory School. Mr Feirrera had only one leg and drove an old, battered car. He did not seem like an imposing figure in the community but he could hold a class of youngsters spellbound. I can even remember how the warrior king, Shaka of the Zulu tribe, was killed and how Dingaan became the new king. The way his voice rose and fell; his hand and arm movements, I will never forget. South African history now lives in my mind and imagination. Every single student in that class achieved distinctions. From him I developed a lifelong love for history, which has been passed on to one of my girls.

In South Africa, teachers are poorly paid, yet they ought to be the best paid. The future depends on the skills and passions of teachers, yet they are not valued in the community. What of other countries? Are teachers appreciated there, or not? I wonder...

Sort:  

Respect teachers, they bulid nations.
Tanks for impressive sharing sir, following & upvoted.
@fred703

great post ^^ follow me i followed u back let's help each other ^^ @fred703

your write up is awesome ! really teaching should be a profession every reader should embrace with joy. am a writer and also love reading. Am looking for opportunity to be a teacher.

all the best and hope for your success; teachers make a difference, great teachers change lives of individuals and communities for generations

great 👌👌👌👌post 👍👍👍👍 follow💐💐💐💐 me i followed💐💐💐💐 u back let's help each other 🎂🎂🎂🎂

I took a course "Teaching English to Foreign Learners" and I went to Taiwan for my practicals. The pay is reasonable ($2K per month with about $1K per month needed for monthly expenses). And the kids were awesome. I almost signed a one-year contract, but circumstances called me back to the US. (Since then I fell in love and moved to the Philippines but that is another story).

"Native English" speakers are found to be valuable in Southeast Asia. Brits, Canadians, Aussies, Americans, and South Africans are all examples.

Thanks for posting!
:)
Oh, and my wife has her accounting certificate but is not using it. I showed this cartoon to her last year. I thought you might like it too!

Several people I know went to teach in Taiwan and enjoyed themselves immensely

and I really loved the cartoon. My third daughter is studying teaching at Pretoria University.

That cartoon made me chuckle...probably because I am not in accounting ;)

Teachers are somewhat appreciated now in our Country. One of the priority policies of our New President Duterte is to increase the Salary of the teachers, I believe our Public teachers are enjoying now their increase...Thanks for appreciating Teachers @fred703

good on your President, I have respect for people like that

Congratulations @fred703! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @fred703r, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 1242 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was 2019.88. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here. If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

I love it! You're right, every day a person learns something new, but also teaches another person something else :)

Upvoted. I'll be resteeming this now :]

I used to install a lot of passion in my Teachers, for some reason, they did not like having me in their class?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63316.73
ETH 3077.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87