Getting back into it.

in #teaching6 years ago

This week was the first time in over 10 years that I taught ESL in a classroom. It certainly an adjustment, especially for my voice.
When I was in my 20's, I didn't what a lot of GenXers did when they couldn't find a job at home after graduating from University; take off to some exotic place and teach English as a Second language. When I left the profession I was in my early 30's and found myself in a desk job for 8 years (which I hated) but I didn't want to go back into ESL has I had felt I had exhausted myself and didn't want to go back.
Now in my 40's and I am back in the classroom. Losing my voice from talking more than I have for a long time, feet hurt from pacing back and forth to student to student, and being mentally tired because of 3 hrs of lesson planning after classes and no matter how much you have prepared you have think on your feet during class.
What surprises me is how much I remember and even how my teaching style has changed. When I was younger I was high energy, loud and trying to make sure the students are having fun. I see now I am a lot calmer and a lot more confident in front of the classroom. I still want my students to have fun but I am not going to be running around acting like a clown like I did when I was in my twenties.
I don't think that I will be teaching for the rest of my working life but it has been nice to get back in to see if I still got it.

Have you ever gone back to something you haven't done in years? What are some of your experiences?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66