Homework?

in #teaching6 years ago

image.png

Been thinking about homework lately. No not my homework in particular, but the concept in general. Recently my 4th grader brought us a note saying that her class wasn't getting any more math homework for the year because so many kids were rarely or ever completing the homework. My daughter was certainly not part of the problem, but as with many things, the policy affects her whole class. The letter informing us of the change was backed by some research, which they included in the packet. While I wasn't 100% convinced and still need to do some more reading on the subject, the article certainly made some good points.

Which brings me to homework in computer science classes. Initially, it sounded like a good idea to me. As teachers, we could teach so much more if the students spent time at home working on their code. However, I think there may be some serious equity issues to address. I've realized I take for granted my ready access to technology and fast internet. Both the school I teach at remotely and my wife's school are serving rural areas. Not every student has access to fast internet or even a computer. Unlike a math worksheet, our homework is reliant on the student haven't access to resources that are not universal. Thus we really cannot be assigning homework as much as we'd like to for computer science classes.

This tech discrepancy is only one element of a digital divide that seems to be a growing problem in our world. Having tech and ready access to the wealth of resources on the internet gives a huge advantage to those who have it as opposed to those who lack the technology and know-how. Which is why all those initiatives to design affordable tech and get it to those who need are important causes we must continue to support. I think I am going to do a little more research so I can write a post about the different ways we can help shrink the digital divide that is forming in our society. If any of my readers have links or organizations aligned with these goals, please share in the comments.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Rantar from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01