Something odd with STEEM/SBD

Has anyone else noticed that over the last few weeks, that the price of SBD has consistently been almost exactly 50cents lower than Steem.

No matter if its on a pump or a fire sale period, the prices have remained basically pegged at about 50cents difference.

I'm not saying there's anything dodgy going on at all, or collusion or manipulation. I'm merely pointing out that we appear to have pegged the value of SBD to 50c below the price of Steem.

If this was to remain steady, and Steem was to continue growing then this is awesome, the market ratio would tighten up and the difference would be almost negligible. But if Steem was to crash hard, and SBD stays pegged there, that would be bad, like REALLY bad.

But then again, maybe I'm just reading WAY too much into all of this.

gohba.handcrafts02.png

Sort:  

If it stays pegged 50cents below and STEEM drops back to its recent low then we are going to get the SBD Purge I wrote about a month or so back.

The Coming STEEM DOLLAR Purge : Why it Needs to Happen and How

Just read the link bugged - and needless to say I’m confused. You have your head around this way more than I do! How does the steem peg actually work (or how was it originally designed to work before it broke)? Does it have something to do with burning SBD and to balance supply and demand or am I way off?

I wrote another article which explains how SBDs are created and destroyed.

STEEM DOLLAR Will Fall To $1 USD : Here’s Why

Basically the peg is supposed to keep SBD valued at around $1 USD. As a stable crypto coin the idea is that it then would have some appeal for mainstream commerce as businesses would not need to be currency speculators to accept crypto payments. I'm still hanging out for that day I can buy a cup of coffee with SBD :)

Woah - there was a lot of info in that! I didn't read comments but I think I'm starting to get it. ( you're pretty smart bugged)

It makes sense that the SBD has pegged to the price of steem considering there is a free exchange. I don't imagine there is much of a demand for SBD? It's mostly used for bid bots... if we could buy coffee with it, the market would probably be more likely to correct itself ( I think).

I wonder if the 50cent difference Gohba mentioned is because of the difference between the buy and sell price on the steem market exchange?

I'm not sure. It's probably the Technical Analysts out there that are trading SBD in proportion / relative to STEEM and the internal market may be part of that dynamic.

Thanks for the kind words and engagement. I'll cut off my response so that I don't hijack @gohba.handcrafts thread with more of my wacky theories ;)

Feel free to wacky it up mate.

I reckon Gohba's cool with wacky 😊

I had kind of noticed too actually. Though I have no idea how it could really be controlled. So I'm leaning towards the coincidence side. Or some kind of whale manipulation for any number of reasons.

I'm sorry Gohba but I can't take this article seriously after seeing that GIF! Where the hell did you find it?! Lol

hehe, but I bet that GIF made you click on the article ;)

It might have peaked my interest 😉

Congratulations @gohba.handcrafts! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

I have noticed that as well and have thought it is strange but hadn't really thought about the implications it is intriguing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98