My plan to see my ‘true’ dad

in #teamaustralia4 years ago (edited)

After Casey ignored her mother, Catherine for six months she decided to go and see who her real father was. Leaving Kelsey’s house without a warning, after she told her who it was. She flew all the way to New York, using her sister’s credit card to buy the ticket. Once she arrived, she used her phone to track down where exactly was the man, who was named Robert Gellert lived and how he and her mother was ‘related’.
Once she got off the bus, she was carrying a bag with all of her clothing and research. She arrived at what seems like an old, broken house. It had a garden where the plants grew all over the walls and the door was impossible to reach. Casey managed to reach the door bell and the ringing sound was as spooky as the house itself.

Robert: can I help you, miss??

Casey turned around to see the man in the research standing next to her. He was almost double the age of mom and definitely not what she had expected. While she stood there staring at him, he seems to be disliking it and walked inside, ready to close the door.

Casey (stiff): I………...um…………

Robert (impatient): can I help you with anything??!1! I don’t have all day.

Casey: I…….I am……...you are………….

Robert rolled his eyes as he was prepared to close the door in front of her. Casey acted like a strange girl who knocks at a stranger's doors and speaks crap. So she thought of a way to overcome her anxiety in order to speak.

Casey (brave): my name is Casey Anne Vance!

Robert immediately opened the door wide as he looked into the girl’s eyes. Casey felt uncomfortable giving someone eye-contact, but for a moment she did not look away. Then Robert’s facial expression immediately changed, from looking dull and mockingly into longing and remorse.

Robert (quietly): you’re a Vance?

Casey: yes.

Robert: well…...is your mother, Catherine?

Casey (desperate): yes!!! Catherine Jane Vance, she lives just in Minnesota!!!!

Robert: well…I am glad to hear from her again. How is she? Is she alright, with her husband?

Casey did not know how to respond to that. There are millions of thoughts in her mind right now. Wiring as one and mangling together, like wires that are tangled together in a knot. So she began with one simple question, not really a question but a statement. Yet she could not help but let out some of her emotions.

Casey (emotional): I’ve recently found out…………..my father was never my father. My mother’s been lying to be all this time. Gary was never my dad…………………..you’re my father!!!

After that there was a long pause. Robert was speechless and just as stiff about this as Casey was. He stood out in the opening for almost fifteen minutes, as the day was dawning he began to determine something. He let Casey inside of his house as he began to speak. His house was a mess and at least three cats.

Robert (longing): you see………...you were never supposed to find out. I……….

Casey: well now I do!!!! I am so mad at Catherine for not telling me this. What else haven’t they told me yet??!!!

Robert: what happened, back then…...was all my fault. Your mother had nothing to do with it……...yeah, it was I who started all this…………

Casey (outraged): why did she lie!!!!

Robert got up and grabbed a dish of biscuits for Casey and he ate a piece as they sat down on an old sofa.

Robert: I told your mother, from the minute I found out that Gary was to never know about this. I wanted………...we wanted what was best for you. That you could believe that you were born……………..normally.

Casey (laugh): well, I am never normal…………..

Robert: never, ever say that stuff about yourself. Your mother has rang me last night, told me how upset you were and how much you’ve come. I personally never got a chance to see you, but I had faith that you were able to overcome it.

Casey (tearing): I am……..just so happy…….so happy to see you!!

Robert got up and grabbed a box of tissues, trying his best not to cry but he did. He let out some tears and tried to hide it from his daughter.

Robert (weeping): I am so proud of you, Casey. I know it was my fault…..I caused all this. Yet you have used it for your own benefit. You are always going to be……...the daughter I never had.

For more stories in my blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62