10 Ideas How The Edge Can Help A Steemian Start A Business and Promote The Steem Spirit

in #teamaustralia6 years ago (edited)

I first heard about @teamaustralia when I read @stephen-somers post about Steemfest meetup in Brisbane. So I decided to show up but I think I was like 1 hour late haha.

I actually felt a little shy to meet anyone new because I thought I would scare people with my pimples😂. But I was curious about the place called 'The Edge' so I went to investigate anyways.


arthur c clarke.JPG
Great Quote at 'The Edge' (Public Innovation and Fabrication Lab)

I was so amazed and blown away with what I found there that I wanted to write a post so everyone globally can benefit. I came up with:

10 Ideas How The Edge Can Help A Steemian Start A Business and Promote The Steem Spirit

1. The Edge Brisbane Can help you with Stationery or Craft business

I met a young couple, who is starting a side business producing custom wedding 'guest gifts' using graphic computers and laser cutters. One of the gifts they were making was custom made jigsaw puzzles with guest names.



Free $5,000 Laser Cutter Anyone Can Use.....Yeah!


2. The Edge Can help with Tech Games Start Up

There is a linux game development PC there for tech developers, programmers, hackers, etc.....all free of charge.

You don't need a PC, Power, or even an office to start developing games.

BUT, you do need to be hardworking and willing to learn how to program to take advantage of all these computers and software.


game-development.JPG
Trying Out Some Games That Were Already There


3. The Edge Can help with 3D Printing Business
The Edge provides many 3D printers you can use if you want to do Architecture/construction modeling, Research and development, 3D designing, etc. but don't have a 3D printer of your own.


3D printing.png
Some of the 3D Printers and Designs Made


3d printed bridge.JPG
3D Printed Bridge Design


4. The Edge Can help with Creating Ethical Clothing
At The Edge you can grow a kind of bacteria known as Kombucha which can be dried and made into clothing.


kombucha.png
Instructions on How to Grow Your Own and Examples of What You Can Do With It


5. The Edge has a great view of the river and a relaxing environment. It’s a nice place to do work, study or just relax.

Also a great place to brainstorm innovative ideas with (Steemian) friends. It also has a coffee and snack shop there.


riverside view.JPG
Gorgeous River Side View


6. The Edge helps with Fabrication/Engineering/Hardware Tech/Woodwork
There is Molding, cutting and fabrication equipment there.


This is How You Make a Cool Dragon Egg :) 😄😆
Cutter and Molding Machines.png
Check Out the Heavy Duty Cutting Equipment, Machinery and Drills...but Always Safety First


7. The Edge can help with Robotic Tech Development
You have to trust me. There were equipment and parts for building robots, I just forgot to take a photo...so here's a robot that I built.


robotic2.jpg
I think once my robot tried to run away from me, but no worries I'm fast :D


8. The Edge also has fast computers and graphics software that can help architects, multimedia designers, digital artist, etc.


IMG_1140.JPG
This Must Be What It's Like Working In The Silicon Valley (Google), or Apple, or Microsoft


9. The edge has a music studio to help the musically talented.

So if singers like @kodieamos want to record and post on Steemit, but if they do not have any high end recording equipment, come to 'The Edge' and you can record for free!


music studio.JPG
Sorry the studio was closed at the time so I couldn't take a photo of the inside


10. The Edge has meeting facilities and conference rooms making it a great place for people to meet for discussions like Brisbane STEEMfest Meetup that I sadly missed because I came late. 😭



Meeting and Conference Rooms Available To Everyone


BONUS Item 11

11. The Edge Helps Promote Decentralization (Like Our Beloved Steem Blockchain)

I Just Love This Quotedecentralization.JPG

This is what it says:

Access to computer - and anything which might teach you
something about the way the world works - should be unlimited
and total. Always yield to the Hands-On Imperative!
All information should be free.
Mistrust authority - promote decentralization.
Hackers should be judged by their hacking, not criteria such as
degrees, age, race, sex, or position.
You can create art and beauty on a computer.
Computers can change your life for the better.

Levy, Steven (2001) Hackers: Heroes of the Computer Revolution

I hope you enjoyed reading this. If you think it's important that every city in every nation around the world should have this, then speak up and promote this to your community, city council, state, and national leaders.


The Edge (Public Innovation Lab) in Brisbane, Australia
The Edge Brisbane By The River.JPG


Before I end, I also want to do a Shout Out Thank You To All The People Who Dropped By/Upvoted/Encouraged me in my previous posts:

THANK YOU: @ausbitbank, @damarth, @ibb, @preparedwombat, @sneakgeekz, @gmuxx, @jackmiller, @krystle, @centerlink, @travelgirl, @buggedout, @thinknzombie, @biophil, @bearone, @minnowsupport, @kubbyelizabeth, @webcoop, @bigdizzle91, @aussiesteem, @sylviamiller, @dez1337, @shivohum2015, @wakeupworldnews, @travelersmemoire, @misslasvegas, @honeydue, @teamaustralia, @bkkshadow, @ardina, @originalworks, @jaycobbell, @pqlenator, @betterthanhome, @stephen-somers, @jonknight, @laniakea1, @user0103283, @urs, @jesusj1, @truthforce, @thekitchenfairy, @maximdraws, @jagged, @feye, @dwaeji-aizelle, @hanen, @nikonmarshall, @mumofmany, @natra, @onethousandwords, @trishlarimer, @kate-m, @steemulator, @mazzle, @ausbitbot, @drsinmongwong, @shadowspub, @lastminuteman, @gomeravibz, @dorotea, @dj123, @mike50, @valth, @sevlom777, @trucklife-family, @steemprentice, @idikuci, @natalia.fire, @stephen.king989, @abiturient, @krimka, @bonny9, @razi05, @dompetsteem, @azamkhan7091, @miragenoir, @coconutz99, @hansluckoo, @ccnew, @gamerveda, @cheech-oz, @steemsquad, @pusteblume, @banjo, @helsy, @gindor, @jhermanbeans, @hemantrg, @pomperipossa, @ubg, @dheenu0456, @cryptohustler, @whatamidoing, @myday, @edrivegom, @fivestargroup, @decibel, @primetimesports, @numpypython, @beng05, @qwasert, @myaceh, @taica, @jhagi.bhai, @nesbitt, @timbalabuch, @humoalex, @jean.racines, @bones, @kelkirie, @cub1, @cmp2020, @mostly.nature, @leoplaw, @firepower, @choogirl, @asohaibk, @haiyangdeperci, @mitneb, @syedameen21, @mariameen4, @anomaly, @onnygabriel, @brendashockley, @hanvi, @bonaventurehoste

THANK YOU To RE-STEEMERS: @ausbitbank, @bigdizzle91, @jonknight, @misslasvegas, @preparedwombat, @trishlarimer Using: Resteem Checker


Water Dragon & Me Just Outside 'The Edge'
water -dragon & me.png

Update:

If you can see the great value and benefit of your city getting a facility like this, please consider Re-Steeming this and sharing the idea with others even outside of Steemit.com

Peace ✌, Hope , & love ❤!

RESPECTS To RE-STEEMERS: @ausbitbank, @feye, @gregory-f, @ligayagardener, @promo-steem, @ryivhnn, @stephen-somers, @strapasynthon, @ymhb Using: Resteem Checker

Sort:  

Thanks for the mention Mate. So sorry the Steemup was last month to coincide with a STEEMfest. The Edge is really cool and I’m glad you took lots of photos, looks like you had fun. This is one of the reasons I choose that space to hold the Steemup. I hope to catch up next time. You’re almost the same age of my son @frobear and sounds like you’ve similar interests.

Hi @stephen-somers,

Hey is so great to see you show up again!

I was wondering when you'll come by and check out what you started....haha :D

I owe you a thanks, if not for you post, I would not have explored all around the whole facility....I went into all corners of that place, even found a back hall where they had old computers and they were willing to give away all but you have to ask nicely :)


IMG_1135.JPG
old computers you can ask for....cool right?

Yeah...I think I'm almost the same as @frobear, but he's much more creative than me. I just made a castle with a dungeon with a lava around it on minecraft, he build a whole city! Dang he's good :D

You're done so much for me already, I hope you don't mind me asking if you'll consider re-steeming this, who knows maybe someone international will see this post and tell their community leaders. I believe in the butterfly effect (like chaos theory or something), small efforts have big impact. Thanks for considering!

Peace ✌, Hope 🙏, & Love 💖!

I thought I had resteemed but done now.
You had a really good look around and got into some areas we didn’t. Def have to try for a Catchup over the school holidays.

Thank you for Re-Steeming 🙏🙌😊...Respects @stephen-somers!

I'm really impress by how you guys support your team members. I've been interested in joining team Australia, how often do you guys meet-up?

Nice post....hope someday my material gets promoted like this...though that's not worthy enough..I think my SELFISH SIDE IS TAKING ON.ME....SHOULD TAKE A LEAVE

Hi @aaquib11b,

Thank you for dropping by and leaving a comment.

If you don't mind taking advice from a teenager....I do have a few mindsets that will help you succeed here on Steemit.

A) Think of an idea or a personal experience that will help someone else or others
B) Write it down and the add 1 or 2 more ideas to that idea
C) Be thankful to everyone who reads, positive or negative (honestly, I am just grateful for you dropping by, even if you don't upvote or resteem my post, I still appreciate you coming.....I really do!)

I hope this will help you succeed, I saw your post and it looks like you have something much-much more valuable that you have not shared!

Wish you all the success here.....don't stop, don't give up. Steem has just gone up 100%, and SBD 700%, you will be glad you stuck around when Steem goes up 10,000% in a few years time.

I'll follow you and be an encouragement to you!

Peace ✌, Hope 🙏 & 💖 love!

Thanks for sharing Josh, Im a Brissie girl (who was kidnapped about 23 years ago and is being held hostage in Sydney. I will have to check this place out next time I'm in town.

Welcome to TeamAustralia!

Ha ha thanks for replying and Up-Voting really appreciate it.

Thanks of your support.

Peace ✌, Hope 🙏 & 💖 love!

Hi @joshua-golbuu,

I really enjoyed reading your newest post. I've visited some tech incubators and hacker's club in San Jose Valley in California, and this really looks like one but only public and has a greater variety of resources.

I see alot of folks here are supporting you heck even resteeming, you're doing a great job! Keep it up young man!

Wow...super thanks for the great sponsor and the encouragement! I've waited for my Steem Power to recharge so I can upvote you higher!

Peace ✌, Hope , & Love !

Superb post, excellent pictures and plenty of good dialogue to explain. The Edge is a very forward thinking idea for helping develop peoples ideas - I don't know if we have something similar in the UK - but we certainly should!

Thank you for your kind words hope you guys have something similar to this over there in the UK or at least get one soon.

Peace ✌, Hope 🙏 & 💖 love!

That is a fantastic article you have written! There needs to be more places like that and more youth like you. :)

Thanks for the encouragement it's because of people like you that getting into steemit was easier.

Peace ✌, Hope 🙏 & 💖 love!

G'day Josh.
So all this time I thought "The Edge" was one of the world's best Guitarist's in one of the world's best Band's???
https://www.atu2.com/band/edge/

BTW - I saw them in Brisbane at Suncorp Stadium in 2010!!

There is more to "The Edge" than meets the eye.

Seriously child you thought people would be afraid of your pimples, do you realise most of us were kids once ;D

Wow that space is awesome, bet you're glad you went :O And I'm glad you took photos and turned it into a post!

goatsig

Haha....yeah, it's emotional up and down with us teens, also if I'm hungry it does not help with the mood :p

Thanks for dropping by @ryivhnn, I really like your logo, cool chinese characters, I'm 1/4 (I think, but I can use chopsticks with both hands...sort of like a kungfu master....hehe, just kidding). I love that baby goat too...very cute ❤.

Yes, glad I went, yes glad I got photos, and yes wish I didn't go so late. Not my fault (excuse), transport was slow.... :D

Thank you 110% for re-steeming it, I really hope it will be like this all over the world some day!

What a fabulous resource for people to make use of. Anyone who lives near enough, is very lucky to have such a place at hand.

Shame you missed the meet-up though. Hope there's a 'next time'. :)

Hi @ravenruis,

Thanks for dropping by. Yeah the potential of the resources are limitless, and they are upgrading the facility all the time (so I was told).

Alot of people who are good with crafts, innovation, ideas, or even research can benefit from this. I hope there will be one nearby where you live someday!

Hope you will consider re-steeming it and spreading the word so the rest of the world can follow the best ideas and generosity that humanity have to offer.

So glad someone like you came by and visited :)

Peace ✌, Hope 🙏, & Love 💖!

...hope my pimples clear up alot more before the next time..... hehe :D

Good on ya @joshya-golbuu and Brisvegas! I had no idea this existed either lol but did keep telling everyone Queensland was the place to be... :-)

Hahaha..... good call @aussiesteem. Yeah good old Brissie in Qld is great place to live or visit.....especially if someone likes to gamble their Steem away in soon to be Bris-Super-Vegas :D

I am only allowed in the restaurant area, and entry is also ristricted until 7:30pm after that kids have to leave....oh well, I preferring wagering my Steem in the future with SteemPower, and upvoting great talents, and to also spread encouragement instead of letting it sit for interest only :D

Wheww....did you run out of breath reading that last sentence paragraph ? hehe

Peace ✌ & 💖 love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77