You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Frailty and White Australia

in #teamaustralia6 years ago

If you yearn for the past but you also won't face it, how on earth do you stand?

Here fucking here. Loved this. Xx Love your writing. Loved your Bracks inclusion.. such a great image.

I don't identify with this Australia. It is a cobbled together identity that's flimsy and shallow. My Australia is better than that. This one I'm ashamed of.

Sort:  

Thank you. It's a typically teenage identity isn't it. It's no wonder so many people of UK descent are so fragile. I mean, even before they came here, a lot of their earlier identity had been trodden underfoot by invasion and religious ideology. i totally understand a desire for historical roots; I feel the lack of them.

I dont understand why it has to be so darn competitive. It would be nice to embrace indigenous culture and learn about country from them... like, mandated in schools. And when i was growing up multi culturalism was the foundation of my schooling. Whats wrong with that identity under the southern cross? Theres my naive idealism again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66568.01
ETH 3070.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68