A Huge Learning Curve

in #teamaustralia6 years ago

I’ve been on the other side of the world now for 5 months. It’s been a crazy experience with high and low points, and although I’m looking forward to getting home, I’m glad that I was able to experience it.

I think this year has been all about discovering myself, and I know how cliche that sounds.

I came here excited and confident. My parents have always supported me in every way and pushed me to be the best that I can. Something I wasn’t prepared for, though, was my family in England. I’ve learned over time to deal with other people and stay confident in myself, but I’ve always had a lot of trust in my family. It wasn’t necessarily a good experience, but it was certainly an important one, to discover that just because someone is family, doesn’t mean that they have your best interests at heart.

In October I had an amazing experience. I went to Germany for one week and got to live with a wonderful family. I learned so much about the culture and the language, got to try their foods and see the beautiful forests they’re so famous for.

3248.jpg

After coming back from Germany I’ve been trying to focus on recovering and myself. My Aunt (who is so wonderful like her sister @minismallholding) has helped me so much with regaining my passion for things and understanding what’s going on. I’ve picked up on more of my studying, and am currently focusing on microbiology. As of now, I’d really like to look into evolutionary development.

Sort:  

Good to hear you've had a great time!

Yeh unfortunately there's always "one in every family" whatever that "one" is.

Good choice, microbiol and evodevo is fun :D

It certainly sounds it too! Unfortunately it's looking like I might not find much on that topic in the unis here, so I might need to look into other states or open uni.

Really, that seems odd o_O are they perhaps buried in other courses? When I was at uni microbiology was a unit within some science courses. I don't know if there was a specific evodevo course but I seem to remember covering the topic in various other units when I was doing my biology degree.

Murdoch (the uni I went to) has a a Genetics and Molecular Biology course anyway, is this something along the lines of what you're looking for?

Welcome home :)
We kept the place warm for you. Hope to see you at the meet in a couple of weeks.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by minismallholding from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62