I am a Newbie to Australia Question. I got my first job, Is this Legal???

in #teamaustralia6 years ago

Hi everyone,
I am very new to Australia and took some temporary work with a local builder while I find some permenant work. I got my first weeks pay on Friday for the first time and noticed that my hours were short by 3 hrs (I am getting paid by the hour). I queried the boss and his response took me back a bit, he said that in Australia they don't pay you for your lunch break if you are working by the hour...... ODD

As I said I am new to this country so I didn't complain much, but after putting in a 9 hour back breaking 6 days a week then day not getting paid for 30 minute break seems very weird to me. In South africa and the UK were I have worked before you do get paid for your breaks as long as you work a full day.
So I thought I would ask you guys?
Question mark.jpg

What do you think? Have I found a crap boss or is this normal in construction? Am I getting taken advantage of as a new immigrant?
Your advice is gratefully received.
Thanks in advance

Sort:  

Congratulations @tony10! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61519.90
ETH 2995.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45