Always Sharpen The Axe

"I'm constantly learning, and that is the greatest gift of life in my opinion - to always be learning and growing." Kristin Chenoweth

Why hello :)

So for 2019 after many years of being told what to do and what is expected of me, I am purposely breaking free of the bullshit, and forcing myself to find my inner child again. The beautiful soul we all have, that has been locked away in a internal prison, and told to only come out in retirement, because that's when we should enjoy life again.

Well my goals for this year, was to start to do the activities I loved growing up. This to me, is playing the guitar! but because I wanted to make learning fun again, I am also learning new instruments that I have always wanted to play as well. These are the piano and drums.

UNFORTUNATELY!!! I live in a Unit at the moment and Drums would be "TOO LOUD" and a Piano would take up "TOO MUCH SPACE"

So I opted for a practice drum pad and some drum sticks. Because I was not going to make the excuse " I will get around to it when I have enough money/ I will get around to it when I have a new house" because what the world needs is more people taking action and staying accountable for being badass and awesome.

At least with this drum pad and drumsticks I can practice Timing, Drum Rudiments, which I believe theirs near 40 to learn.

Just a way to pretty much learn technique and anything technical, by eliminating the distractions of cymbals and all that jazz. Moral of the story, is you can start anywhere to begin your journey.

I really need to get a camera and start filming (SIGH) I guess i'll start to maybe use my iPhone for updates of progress I make through out the year, which would be pretty cool. I think thats what I will do, for now! No excuses hey!

What I want to ask all of you out there, is what new or old activities do you love? and have neglected over the years?
and what new things do you want to learn?

Well I challenge you to learn or get back into something that brings back the inner child you have, because that's where life is most enjoyable.

I would love to hear from you all :) so leave me a comment and if you do get back into something that brings you joy, after neglecting it for years, leave a photo and become as interactive as you wish with this idea.

Stay you, Stay Free.

0.jpg

Sort:  

Is that drum pad a digital thing or just something to practice on that won't annoy the neighbours?

I've got guitars all over the place that don't get used much anymore, I will have to make an effort to play with them this year. I lost my way a bit after my kids were born and life became all about them, so I intend to start making a bit more time for myself this year.

Hey man, It is just a pad. Something to practice technique and timing on. It also gives a good feel for feeling the rebound from the sticks when hitting.

Yeah thats it! life can easily get in the way if we don't make time for ourselves, which essentially makes us happier and more productive individuals.

Definitely make some time man! what sort of guitars do you have?

I've got guitars all over the house,I have steel string acoustic, nylon string classical,a few electric strat knockoffs and I also have a few cigar box guitars I made myself.

An American steemit member is a keen drummer you might want to check out his blog seeing your both into drumming. His name here is @steemmatt

Welcome to steemit man!

Ah cigar box guitars! how awesome are they. Such a great sound!

I will be sure to head on over and check out his content. Cheers @Khufu

This is also a youtube video giving a good demo of what its used for.

Congratulations @welcometolife! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44