Bonsai Update

in #teambonsai6 years ago

Not much is happening in my bonsai world right now. We are mid summer, and right now bonsai activity consists mostly of just trying to make sure the trees don't get fried to a crisp, and get enough water. The last week or so the heat has let up a little with highs remaining in the mid 90's to just below 100f. This Spring I dug up two trees that I had been growing out in the ground for the last few years. Unfortunately, it doesn't look like the elm is going to make it... I'm a little sad (of course) because this tree was in the ground for maybe 4 years(?) and has the trunk size i was looking for. Unfortunately when I dug it up, I noticed that its trunk, below the first branch, was about twice as long as I was hoping for. The plan was to get it growing in the pot, and maybe try and air layer it next year. The tree had other ideas...


IMG_1525.JPG

Ill keep watering it and praying for a miracle, but i think she is a gonner :(

The other tree was another 'failed' experiment. I had planted 3 small (less than pencil thick) seedlings together and through the middle of a CD. The idea was that the tiny trees would grow until the CD choked off their trunks (below the soil line), and force the trees to fuse and root above the CD- making a nice thick trunk and a flared flat root structure. Unfortunately these trees grew uncharacteristically slowly, and the CD disintegrated before it could force the trees to fuse. I saved the largest of the three trees and planted it in a pot.


IMG_1513.JPG
can for scale

This is a volunteer from a mulberry across the street. It is doing well in its new home, and has sent out numerous long shoots.


IMG_1515.JPG

The older wood you can see is where I had to prune it prior to digging it up. I always try to leave some foliage on the trees when I dig them up, and this is where the lowest leaves where at the time. It has back budded well, and send numerous shoots out low on the trunks. The plan for this tree today was just to reduce the length of the tallest shoots that where coming from the tallest parts of the trunks to encourage even more back budding lower down.


IMG_1516.JPG
minimal pruning

I'm not sure what the overall plan for this tree is, but those existing trunks are obviously too long and straight to remain. The immediate plan is to get the roots healthy, and maybe do a hard cut to establish the lowest branch as the main trunk (next spring).


IMG_1513b.JPG
Proposed new trunk line

In other news, the Gunrae Satsuki is filling in quite densly:


IMG_1518.JPG

I will have no problem compacting the branches next spring... I did prune a few areas on it today, mostly just removing what would become 'whorls' . Azaleas like to send out 5 shoots from where the flowers where. I thinned these to 2, and generally just opened up some of the canopy to let light into the interior to encourage the new branches that had sprouted closer to the trunks. Pre-spring pruning will probably see this tree reduce by about half of its current width...


IMG_1520.JPG
more open canopy to let light in to the interior

Oh, I never mentioned; as a bonus during the initial pruning I found several of the lowest branches had touched the soil and actually rooted! So, I ended up with 4 rooted cutting from this tree. Next spring they will probably get moved into their own individual pots to grow out.


IMG_1519.JPG
the 'nursery'

Again, I don't have the most exciting (pre)Bonsai collection, but I thought you all might be interested in seeing how my trees are doing. Documenting on Steemit should also provide for some good progression posts in the future...

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord


teambonsai.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!!
Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.

SCSreplybanner.jpg

Nice work. I'm charging up my vote power, so expect one from me in the future for this post.

Did you check the temperature of the soil interior temperature on the tree that is fading? Can use your finger, or a thermometer.

I ask because, I noticed most of my trees in small plastic pots were getting cooked by the steamy hot soil. The sun was heating up the plastic pots a lot more than the clay pots were. Shade was the best solution for me.

You can also do a scratch test, to make sure the branch is still green and alive.

Keep up the great work. Seeing the azalea making that many vigorous new cuttings is very encouraging.

Thanks for the reply. The black pots do get pretty hot in the sun... At this point i need to move it into the shade regardless; it has no green left on it. I've had a few trees come back from the dead, so I don't give up easily on them.

I'm probably going to get some shade cloth set up for all the tress for the remainder of the summer.

I, too, love bonsai. Very nice work you are doing!

Thank you for the kind compliment.

Cool! You know those hedges along the wall on the patio? Going to rip them out... Maybe you could do something with them? Going to replace them all with aromatic herbs and pretty things, not box shaped Myrtle.

Yea, id definitely be interested in some of those. I was looking at them when we were over there :)

I love the green thumb here. Is there any chance you can revive the bonsai’s from inside? I know nothing about them other than they sure do look neat and believe they’d be fun to manicure (maybe meditative even). Anyway, I look forward to seeing the revival of your bonsai.

Other than the elm that didnt survive the transplanting, the rest of the trees are doing well. I probably could move them inside on the hottest days, but shade and a mid day watering seems to keep them alive most of the time. Wha ti would really like to have is a small greenhouse with a swamp-cooler in it for the hottest days. Maybe some day i will build that.

A greenhouse would be frikken awesome! Build it build it… haha. I don’t know a lot about growing things, I just had my first cherry tomato plant two years ago. That along with mint, basil and succulents. They all survived so that was good. Haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56