You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Women in History: Caroline Chisholm: Australia's first feminist?

in #teamgirlpowa6 years ago

Hot dam I didn't know any of this. I don't know where to start in my response. In all honesty, being a Melbournian and living here all my life, I never learnt anything about her in school or anywhere else except right here right now on Steemit.

The first thing I thought when I saw her family name was the college. So I wondered whether it was named after her. Then learning the sacrifice she made with her family to be able to help others is astonishing. I do wonder how her kids felt though, it does make me a little sad at the same time. But her husband was also different, he was supportive and not controlling and strict like many men would be during that time even though he was away most of the time. But when he retired he helped out.

Thank you for sharing this history lesson with us. It was a long read but informative. At one point I was questioning whether Caroline was even human to be able to do all of this and have that many children.

Sort:  

Thanks @supersoju. She actually had eight pregnancies but two of her kids died. She also spent more time away from her husband when he was called away to the Army, I just haven't discussed it here since it wasn't overly relevant to my discussion. My understanding is, her children were fine with her not being around for chunks of time. There is no indication in any text that she was estranged from any of them. In fact, there was a family business in Victoria involving a couple of them who were adults during the gold rush.

Ahhh I see. Thanks for clarifying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69345.27
ETH 3816.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67