The Sharing of Random Snippets

in #teamhumans6 years ago

So my brain is on strike this week, and I've pretty much been useless and bedridden. Except for that walk to Trader Joe's several days ago, I haven't really gone anywhere for probably a couple of weeks. I haven't been out of bed much at all in the past week. I can't think of things to post about. I'm a lump that feeds cats at this point.

But during the hours that I've been awake and poking around the internet, I've seen a couple of things related to some of the ops we do at #ophumanangels, so I thought I would just share them.

This is a cool video from NASA about how American forests are changing, using satellite data, relevant because we raised money for The Arbor Day Foundation to replant in those forests just recently! It's pretty interesting if you'd like to give it a watch.

This photo is all the cigarette butts litter walkers in Brussels picked up in only three hours! The total per the FB post I got this from said there were 240,000! The cleanup was organized by the group Leo Not Happy (link to their Facebook).

There is an app for people with smartphones (so, not me, afraid I can't give you a review) who like to do litter walks so they can track the types of trash versus where it is in the world. I presume the idea is to use this data to pressure manufacturers into making less wasteful products and to see what the most helpful things might be in an area to combat litter (like, I called my city council a while back and asked them to get on board with the Terra Cycle program that pairs up with cities to collect cigarette butts and recycle them, since they are such a big problem here). Here is the link to the app's site; you should be able to download it in the Google or iTunes stores: https://www.litterati.org

That's about it! I hope y'all are having a good week.


image from sweatpants and coffee

Man, I wish coffee gave me energy so I could be a magickal caffeinated unicorn of excellence.

That Red Fish your momma always warned you about

Referral links:

Get free Manna, crypto UBI: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=6e4b50d35e

Join Simbi, the barter economy website: https://simbi.com/wren-paasch/welcome

Sort:  

OMFG at all those cigarette butts! I'm a smoker and that pisses me off. 😲

IKR? There are responsible smokers who don't toss it everywhere, I wanna smack the rest of them upside the head with Homey The Clown's sock every time they chuck one on the ground.
Homey's sock filled with cigarette butts.

Yass! Homey don't play dat!

It seems funny that they picked up all those cigarette butts - and then dumped them back on the sidewalk! Why not pour them into a bin?

I think the op said there was also a demonstration involved, so they probably cleaned them and then dumped them to show how crazy the problem is. They have other photos where that clear bin has measurement levels like a measuring cup, so that's how they got the count. It's easy enough to sweep up a big pile after the demonstrative photos.
Also, I think they filled that clear bin twice, because the numbers on it didn't go up to 240k. So they probably wanted a photo of all of it together.

Oh yeah, I figured it was to make a point!

Definitely goes to show that smoking a pipe is much better!

You should use this as an ad campaign for the shop!

This is what I was mentioning when we connected earlier 💚 So good to see you sharing #thegoodnews even while laid up (sorry you've beed holed up Phoenix) I appreciate your take on things and the insightfulness you share. Peace, Energy & Love dear one 💚💛💙❤

Thank you so much. 💙

My pleasure ✌

I'm a lump that feeds cats at this point.

Omg your sense of humour is so awesome, even in the darkness of depression, gawd I loves you!!

Totally amazing stories, I'm grateful to have been a small part of the Arbour Day tree planting!!

And that last meme, bwa hahahahaa!!! I can SO relate!!

I loves you, too. 😘
Javajavajavajavajavajava

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01