CHINESE NEW YEAR...A DAY TO REMEMBER

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)


Source

Since Chinese New Year is just a few days away, so I decided to write a post about it. Chinese New Year, CNY in short, also known as the Sping festival, is celebrated by Chinese all around the globe in the month of February or occasionally January and it lasts for 15 days. To my Dog zodiac friends, this year is your year!
IMG_20180211_112353.jpg
Source

We will do a massive spring cleaning to the house, decorate it, buy new clothes and buy New Year cookies around a few weeks before. I never liked the cleaning part haha, because everything has to be taken out and I have to clean the cupboards and furniture, what a tiring job😪 but I still drag myself up to do it if not I will be literally killed by my parents. Like most people, I love to buy new clothes. I always wanted to try an all-black CNY but obviously I can't. Speaking of new clothes, I have not worn a cheongsam since I was five, hmm...I should buy one someday. You can see ladies wearing cheongsam on the streets during CNY, they are just so aesthetically elegant, I wonder how would I look wearing one haha.
chinese-new-year-house-decoration-ideas-home-design-768x1024.jpg
Source

IMG_20180211_112741.jpg
Source

My mum bought many cookies/pastries just yesterday but I have already opened two and she SCOLDED me😢.
LRM_EXPORT_20180211_122312.jpg

During CNY eve, which is on this Thursday, everyone will be having their reunion dinner with loved ones. No matter old or young, you will still be able to sit at 'The Table'. No more kiddies table guys woohoo! The first dish before having the main course would be Yee Sang. Prepare long chopsticks before you 'lou sang' because it will get messy and squeezy.
IMG_20180211_111607.jpg
Source

IMG_20180211_112115.jpg
Source

Some people will have lion dance at their house and firecrackers will be heard after that. It is believed that the thundering beats of the drums, the deafening sound of cymbals and the face of the lion can evict evil spirits. My sister joined the college lion dance team and her team recently put on a show in front of hundreds of visitors at the Victoria and Albert Museum of Childhood in London.


Source

As kids, we don't work and earn money, but in fact we can during CNY. We will go house to house to visit relatives to exchange gifts and get angpaos. We would normally get cash in hundreds or even thousands for some lucky ones.
IMG_20180211_111825.jpg
Source

That's it for me. Wish everyone of you Happy Chinese New Year and hope you will have a good one this year!

Source

Sort:  

How much money did you collect in your angpao?🤣

Haha surely cannot tell you!!

Nice write up on CNY :D KEEP POSTINGGG <3

Yesss i will , im organising a mini contest

I want to join 🤣🤣

Wahhh simi contest hehe

Gong Xi Fai Cai!!! May the new year bring you and your family much blessings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82