Look Dad! I'm A Grownup!

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

WHEN DID YOU REALIZE THAT YOU'RE AN ADULT?



Image source

I'm sitting on the dining table, stirring my cup of chocolate trying to recognize all the names came out of my mom and dad's mouth. Names after names. I'm so confused. My dad looked at me and said, "You need to know all these people. One day you are going to vote for the leader of your nation and create the future for yourself.". I was thinking to myself. How am I supposed to understand what they are saying right now? I'm just a child and what is that flag my dad put up in front of our house? I was clueless. Well, he said someday. Not today. I'm sure I'll understand it later. Welllllppp... Who am I kidding? I'm not that radical. I don't care about all these. As long as I have a home to go to, and a bed to sleep on, all these political issues are not my cup of tea. I'm off to school.

To be the heroes or slaves for the money.
10 years later, I was sitting in front of a woman in a small booth. I handed her my identification card and she started typing on her computer. "Here you go!" she smiled at me while handing me back my identification card. Yes! I'm a grown up now! I finally decided to vote! I was still confused as what is it exactly I'm doing. "Go! Register only! That way they can't use your name to simply vote anyone.". But who to vote? I thought to myself. It's okay la.. Just going to ask my mom later and just going to vote for whoever she will vote for. "Okay! You must vote him, okay?" Mom pointing at a name on a paper. "I can't remember the name, mom" I sighed. I wasn't exactly paying any attention. "Nevermind la! All you have to remember is this party, okay? Don't vote others!" Mom trying so hard to make me understand. Okay then. Whatever they said. I was so excited as I was queuing up with my brother behind me. Yes! I'm a grown up! I'm doing my part as a grown up! I'm voting. As I was getting my finger painted on, my mind went crazy on me. I'm not going to follow what they've told me too. I'm going to vote for the name that wasn't on anyone's list! A big X mark for the party I never heard of. I was laughing all the way out of the classroom to my mom. "Mom! I vote for that party!" while pointing on the flag outside the school compound. "Whyyyyyyyyyy...Stupid girl." I was laughing all the way home. That night sitting in front of the television with my family, I realized what a stupid move I've made.

Mom, let's take a photo of our blue fingers. It's GE13!
5 years passed and it's the time to finally fixed what's been broken. I felt the burden. I felt the anger. I felt the frustration. I finally knew the importance of my vote. I am creating future for myself. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to go and vote on that day. I felt so bad but I was praying so hard. God, save my family, save my future and save my country. God answered my prayer and the prayers of my nations. History was made. A hero was crowned and I'm starting to see a better future. I just wished that dad is still around to watch this. The thing that he's been fighting for. I now understand. I understand it very clearly. For the first time in my life, I felt that I'm now finally an adult. Not those time I paid my bills, nor the time I paid my groceries. I'm a grown up now. Talking with my friends and family about all these political issues, I remembered very well that day when I was stirring my cup of chocolate listening to my parents talking about the future. Finally, I now understand.


Negaraku, tanah tumpahnya darahku.


Sort:  

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @alvinauh to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01