Easter Celebration; A Pot of Gold ( Part 1)

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

Hey Steemians!

Dash Big Small Steem Orange Divider.png
Its good to finally be able to write something after such hectic week. I'll write about that in my upcoming post. Let's get to today's post, shall we?
Dash Big Small Steem Orange Divider.png

My family, we practice fasting and abstinence during the season of Lent. The norms of my family would be abstaining from meat. So having said that, it was a challenging period as I've to learn how to change my "already rigid diet". There were days that temptation was at its peak and days that I would give in.

As usual, Easter celebration calls for amazing meat-vaganza , being an Indian born and raised in Malaysia, curry is like the God of all gravy. Well at least that's what my friends claim. I could still recall of my conversation with @danielwong and @rayraymy .

Curry hug's you from the inside out. "Well at least they are more Indian that I could ever be on the inside "

@rayraymy and I were shocked when my parents invited him over for a round of lamb curry and chicken drummettes/wings dinner on Easter eve. Hahaha

Having said that, those who know me personally would know that half the time I would decline going to places that has curry in their menu. The fact is that I get to consume it frequently at my place because,

  • My mom is a great cook
  • My mom does the best "curry dishes"
  • My mom loves cooking
  • I love cooking with Mom
  • Nothing beats eating mommy's cooking

All the curry in the world, I'm a sucker for Mutton/ Lamb curry. HAVE YOU EVER TASTED MELT IN THE MOUTH KINDA MUTTON CURRY??!?? The thing about curry is that it is better if you eat it the day after. My mom has this wonderful trick where she cooks it a day ahead. But there is always a clause where mom will say

Eat now, forget about juicy and tasty meat quota for tomorrow T.T

That's actually how mom keeps us away from even going anywhere near the pot of GOLD.


Mom's Legendary Saught After Lamb Curry Goodness

I might be picky about eating curry on daily basis or even when my friends ask me for a change of taste. But my heart would skip a beat for my mom's lamb curry, accompanied by "Tosai" or "Idli". These two combined is the best meal one could ever have.

Dash Big Small Steem Orange Divider.png

The difference of Mom's Pot of Gold Vs Mamak

My mom, she's not only the most amazing superwoman I know, she is the best caregiver one could ever have. The plus is that she is a wonderful cook, my cousins would purposely come down during festive seasons, just to taste mamita's cooking.

13226647_10153683601147476_8170363651696238397_n.jpg
My ever beautiful SuperWoman/ the most awesome Cheif Nurse I know

My mom's way

  • She always, I repeat ALWAYS
    *Cuts the meat in same portion size ( even cooking)
    *Marinate the meat with ( ginger + garlic + onion paste)
  • Pressure- cooker the meat a day beforehand ( let the fat rise up)
  • Uses own secret blend of spice ( heck she doesn't even tell me)
  • Use potatoes as the thickening agent ( seldom uses coconut)
  • Lots of lots of LOVE

With all these in detail, that's why I'm picky when it comes to my mom's cooking. There are just certain things I dare not try when I know my mom does it the best.
Line Big Orange Divider.png

Guess, that's it for part 1 of the Pot of the Gold; will get down to part 2 soon with more info and how my Easter went.
Happy Easter and Have a great week ahead.

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Yum yum yum, I loveeeee mutton curry, it's my favorite too!! Please save some for me when your mom cooks 'em, I'd really like to try 😍😍😍

Congratulations @bethrao! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @bethrao! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67030.16
ETH 3094.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66