You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This post is powered by SteemPress

Hey @webgrrrl ... welcome back. Just to clarify these things ...

  1. "With Steem in particular, admit it-- the fact that I don't have personal control over the blockchain means that the content isn't solely mine to control" - as long as you are the owner of the private keys to the article you have posted .. the information posted are yours and belong to you. The data is securedly stored on the blockchain and if you took a look at this post for example ... you can see it in the blockchain. any other app which connects to the steem blockchain is able to read your blogs.
    you can see it from here https://steemdb.com/teammalaysia/@webgrrrl/thispostispoweredbysteempress-5sga55i9yn/data
    or https://steemd.com/teammalaysia/@webgrrrl/thispostispoweredbysteempress-5sga55i9yn/
  2. what if one day the Steem blockchain decides to collapse, bringing all the data down with them? - thats like trying to take down skynet. you would need to literally shut down the Internet or shutdown every single witness node to bring a blockchain down.
Sort:  

Yeah, call me paranoid. What I post in Steem, stays in Steem, and takes effort to move the content over someplace else not unlike Facebook and Twitter. At least with my own blog, the content stays with my branding at WebGrrrl.net.

Adding to the fact that I can also control the backend of my blog asofar as to at least manage my own virtual server, means that I am steps closer to controlling the technology and tools I prefer to use within the website.

I'm totally not complaining, though. After my own WP.org blog, the Steem platform is my second preferred choice, followed by Medium which is such an ease to blog in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69429.43
ETH 3691.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.35