World Wetlands Day 2020 and Kota Kinabalu Wetland 20th Anniversary Celebration

in #teammalaysia4 years ago


The World Wetlands Day 2020 was held on 29th February 2020. It was held in conjunction with Kota Kinabalu Wetland 20th Anniversary. The event was organised by Sabah Wetlands Conservation Society. It started from 6.30 pm until 9.30 pm and the entrance was free. I came a bit late, around 8.30 pm, so I pretty much missed a lot of things.


World Wetlands Day 2020

So, does anyone of you know what is Ramsar site is? Well, I don’t until I first went to one at Ulu Segama, Sabah back in 2012 or 2013. I was inspecting one of Sabah Forestry Department's project. So I got myself reading up more about it. So what is it?

For starter, it’s the name of a city in Iran called Ramsar, where the international treaty was first signed. The treaty, called Ramsar Convention on Wetlands of International Importance especially as Waterfowl Habitat is for the conservation and sustainable use of wetland. You can read it up more on Wikipedia. Search for Ramsar Convention.

When I arrived, they have already started the Moonlight Cinema by Borneo Eco Film Festival and ANBATAR (Tiritipan Youth Club). Ah, no wonder I’m seeing their event on my Facebook events.  Didn’t manage to watch the whole film though. Bummer.

  • World Wetlands Day 2020
  • World Wetlands Day 2020
  • World Wetlands Day 2020
  • World Wetlands Day 2020
  • World Wetlands Day 2020
  • World Wetlands Day 2020

There are also performances by talented young people from Jesselton International School and Synthesis of The Soul Dancer Studio. Double bummer for me, I missed that.

But I did manage to browse through a small exhibition by UCSF and Sabah Forestry Department.

  • Exhibition by UCSFExhibition by UCSF
  • Exhibition by UCSFExhibition by UCSF
  • Sabah Forestry DepartmentExhibition by Sabah Forestry Department

I also missed registering for a night walk into the mangrove. When was the last time you went in at night? Never. Exactly! OK, if they going to do this again next year, I’ll come early. But in the meantime, I’ll try to have a walk there on daytime first.

Apart from that, you can have you face painted, henna arts and portrait painting if you attended the event. I saw a few food trucks so you know you won't get hungry. It’s a normal thing nowadays for any event. Food trucks are a must.

  • Mini stalls
  • Foodtruck
  • Portrait drawing

Until my next post, thank you for reading :)



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.northborneogeek.com/2020/03/world-wetlands-day-2020-and-kota-kinabalu-wetland-20th-anniversary-celebration/
Sort:  

Congratulations @borneogeek! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68518.46
ETH 3760.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66