New Year; New Resolution; New Me

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

Hello everybody, this will be my very first post as Steemians, which would be an introduction about myself. Herm….
Where should I begin?? Let’s start from the very beginning when I was little baby Darren.

269363_596052947090525_305852490_n.jpg

So, I was brought up in a mix racial family, my dad is a Chinese and my mum is a Kadazan (ethnicity in Sabah, Malaysia) with my younger brother. As a young boy I always have a little bit of language juggling around to do,English was the main language we use when we were kids but since entering Chinese primary school (Chung Hwa KK) things changes, I talk more in Chinese but when I mingle around with my mother’s side family, people will always try to talk to me in Kadazan language which I’m very bad at. Still remember the sentence they like to ask the most “Isai ngaran nu?”(what’s your name) which I was taught well to answer “Darren”, then after that sentence it is all #$%@$^ to me. Which I was taught to answer “Au kalati or Au songkuo momboos Kadazan” (I don’t understand or I don’t’ talk much in Kadazan) which I still get it a lot even though I’m turning 26 this year. I do admire kids nowadays talking in Kadazan though.

Growing up as a kid I love sports a lot like I’m obsessed with sport, I still remember roughly when I was around 9 or 10 years old when my mum brought me to clinics and the doctor asked my mum whether I’m an athlete. Surprisingly to me, my mum answered “NO! He only involve a little bit of sports” which after meeting the doctor, I confronted my mum for saying that. To me, I am an Athlete.

skinny me.jpg

football.jpg

captain.jpg

I once told my dad that I wanted to be a professional martial artist when I grew up, when he shattered my dream by saying “You’ll be dead even before you reach the top” which in some sense I do agree but It hurts me during that time(sensitive boy). It doesn’t stop me actually from actively participating in sports, throughout my years in high school I represent my school in 400m sprint, Hepthalon, was the Football captain and I also hold Taekwondo 3rd degree Black belt.

High school was over in a blink of an eye and I got myself into a few modelling competition as well as show, and was lucky enough to win 2 of them namely Mr Suria Sabah as well as Malaysia Model Look. Unfortunately I decided not to pursuit it any further because of my height which is 174cm, since 178cm and above are the best height going into international.

216752_10150270433875349_7978877_n.jpg

68936_10151305801335349_1439467094_n.jpg

167080_487273760348_8344561_n.jpg
The lady besides me @ejlo3310

Time passes by, done my student life and now I have started working as an Engineer in Weida Integrated Industries Sdn Bhd Sabah and still actively doing sports, specifically Crossfit.

crossfit.jpg

Life is just a never-ending journey waiting for us to unfold.
Thanks for reading, would love to meet you guys and mingle around, keep blogging and stay happy. Cheers!!!

Sort:  

Thank you my brother!!!

Nice introduction @darrenting. Maybe one day you could coach us to lose some of our lunoks 😂

I love to share tips on reducing those lunoks, maybe I'll write about it in coming post
😀

Welcome to Steemit @darrenting. Keep on writing your interesting stories. Cheers!

Thank you Madeve, same goes to you =)

Congratulations @darrenting, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Welcome to Steemit @darrenting, one nice intro you made. 3rd Degree Black Belt in Taekwando, WOW! With your athletic background, maybe you can try parkour.. =)

I really admire people who does parkour, unfortunately, I'm too stiff and I don't have the guts to actually perform all those movement😂

Wow. U do crossfit too.. long time never training already.

U do crossfit before? I'm training in CF 1722, can drop by=)

Ya, i training at x45 before. Stops for long time. Need to start all over again.

Very nice introduction Darren...izou nga au kopizo kalati momboos do Kadazan...😁

But I force myself to speak my mother tongue when I was 28 years old...fast forward 14 years later, I can descently spoke my mother tongue with my uncles, auntie, cousins and friends...

Obuli buli nodii baino😊...nga kakal poh nabati....

Keep up posting Darren

Welcome Darren.. another healthy body healthy mindset!

Very interesting intro @darrenting i am pure kadazan but still cant speak my mother tongue :D welcome to steemit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68