My Story: The Valentines Girls

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

Hi Everyone,

I would like to bring you back to those time where you are very much influenced by the book that you read. As you read those books, you could somehow visualize all the scenes in your mind. Clearly and precisely at every single moment and everything seems so REAL before I heard my MOM screaming to get me to do some house chores or feeding the duck.. It was a rare breed of duck. Back then, it looks like a Muscovy Duck.. lols... I don't recall seeing that type of duck anymore.

mduck2.jpg
(Source: google)

When I was in primary school, I was very obsessed with reading The Three Investigators Mystery Series. This is a juvenile book series that was created by Robert Arthur, Jr. in the early 1960's. These are some of the book collections for your reference.

517M4MAHMFL._SX315_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

hb_1.jpg

I also read the translated version of Nancy Drew, Hardy Boys and Agatha Christie, Enid Blyton and the list goes on. But the story of the three investigators were the best !!! Let me tell you WHY.

One fine day, in my GLORIOUS primary school time, I was discussing about the book review with my two best friends, Ernie and Nonny. We thought it would be nice if we can grow up and be a famous detective someday just like the character in those books. We began to discuss on the cases which happened in our school. The vandalism activities sounds like the 'Mystery of the missing whiteboard', the broken chairs and tables also involved in our 'Sacred' discussion.

I am giggling as I am writing this piece because I still clearly remember the moment we barged into the Deputy Headmaster room to tell him that WE WILL BE THE OFFICIAL INVESTIGATOR OF THE SCHOOL.
(FYI, my school name is S.K Pekan Ranau)

He was appalled. His jaw dropped in disbelief to see the THREE freak girls standing in front of him. I think he was trying to find all the logic behind our action.

tenor.gif

Deputy headmaster: How can I help you girls?

Me: Sir, we would like you to endorse our card.

He blinked and trying so hard to look serious. Our investigation card was the duplicate version of the following, made with yellow 'Manila Card':

card.gif

First Investigator : Ernie Khairina
Second Investigator: Nonny Atika
Record & Research: Sumarni

And we called ourselves as 'THE VALENTINE GIRLS'

tenor.gif

I remember clearly that he stamped our CARD and we were THRILLED to be the official school detectives. Owh Em Gee... and the rest was HISTORY. We never solved any case since there was no mystery of the screaming clock or whatsoever. It was damn funny to remember.

Only nice TEACHER would let us get away with something funny like that!!! He must have been shocked to see us being so serious to become a detective. Maybe he secretly rolled over the floor laughing at US. If I think about this now, I would say how could we be so confidently insane???

Sometimes when I chat with Ernie and Nonny, we will always remember this one as "VALENTINES GIRLS" tragedy. hahahahahaha.....

In this present day, the first investigator is happily married and now residing in the UK and might be back to Malaysia soon. The second investigator is an awesome English teacher in Kota Kinabalu and I am working with the Regulator in Labuan.

For those who did not read the books, you can find some information about the novels from the link below.

http://www.thrillingdetective.com/3investigators.html

I hope you enjoyed reading this piece.

Cheers to an amazing childhood story and I had a hilarious one... Not only detective related, but also related to magical creature like Fairies!! Lols....

Sort:  

Congratulations @erychasuethinks! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71