Cross-culture Challenge by @itchyfeetdonica [🇲🇾🇰🇷跨文化活动]

in #teammalaysia5 years ago (edited)

Thanks @itchyfeetdonica for organizing this beautiful cross-culture challenge for us! Congratulations for being a Steemian for over a year~~<3 Hence, we could know each other now! :)👭

For me, I would share the cross-culture between KOREA🇰🇷 and MALAYSIA🇲🇾 because I have truly experienced 7 months life in Korea during my internship.

Hierarchical Society

Korea is a hierarchical society which is the core in their daily life. For example, younger people need to show respect by bowing to the elderly, pour drink to the elderly and so on. Not only this, Korea has speak levels ( honorific system) which reflects the relationship and status of the parties involved in the conversation. Therefore, they will always ask about your age in order to decide what politeness level (반말/casual and 존댓말/formal) they need to use for each individual.

This is totally different compared to Malaysia. We do not practice bow and use honorific system for higher status people. Hmm, kind of challenging because it means that we need to obey and follow the elder's👴👵 instructions.

(I gained few kgs when I was just back from Korea because my professor kept asking me to eat more...I have trained my capacity to the biggest at that time)

korea bbq samgyeongsal

Views on Beauty

Beauty in Korea is their distinct and unique culture. In fact, portion of the country revenue is from beauty industry. They have beauty stalls all over the place, and the current rising trend is plastic surgery which is socially accepted. And some of the family will give plastic surgery as a highschool graduation gift for their kids. In short, we called all these k-beauty which covers skin care, make up and plastic surgery.

You will get a lot of free gifts if you buy skin care/ cosmetic products there.

korea skincare products

I have seen guys applied lotion and sunblock in the office, which is rarely see in Malaysia. (Shocking 1) I was like I need to apply more to show that I am a lady💃👸 .They bring their sunblock and makeup products everywhere. Other than that, they encourage healthy food such as red ginseng drink, ginseng chicken soup and kimchi for better health and skin condition. Furthermore, they have a lot of jimjilbang (public bath house) which claim to be able to remove toxic from your body and improve blood circulation.

On the other hand, Malaysia do not really concern on skin issues and conditions. We do not even apply sunblock when we go out, but we started practicing it these days after the influence of Korea. (Not trying to look down on Malaysians but these are what I observed)

Self-service Etiquette

This is the most memorable experience for me. I still remember vividly that day when I just back from South Korea, I was automatically clean up after eating in fast food restaurant. Then, my friend looked at me shockingly. I stunned for awhile and tried to figure out what was happening. (Shocking 2) As I have been brain programmed to clean up after eating for more than half a year, therefore my body was consciously doing it without realizing it. However, I believe Malaysian is getting more aware and adaptable on self-service culture. So yea, these are partly what I have experienced, I call it culture shock.

In Malaysia, we do not clean up after eating especially in kopitiam (traditional coffee shop which serves breakfast and some other dishes not a cafe) or hawker stalls. But in Korea, I need to clean up as an act of kindness to the person who prepare food for me ( what I think).

Wide Variety in Convenient Store (GS25 and CU store)

Guess what I did after eating a meal??

snacks

We always went to convenient store to buy some ice-cream, coffee drink and candy for snack. Everytime I have this indecisive dilemma when I entered the stores!

lotte mall korea

I am not a coffee☕ person but I miss Korea coffee drinks~~It's so yummy and I do not feel dizzy or nausea after drinking. I tried to buy different types of coffee drink everytime I visit the store, there are just too many choices!

korea drinks coffee

Sadly, Malaysia does not have these variety of food in convenient store. hahaaa . I am honestly missing Korea food.

Miscellaneous

I could not speak more on Korea culture difference compared to Malaysia.

korea cross culture

This was the collage I created in Korea. They use digital password lock include room and locker. Coffee machine or water dispenser use paper cup for drinking (environmental friendly). Do not cross the road until the pedestrian light turns green. A person walking across the street illegally🚫 (jaywalking) is subject to a ticket and fine. Drink sort of vitagen/ yoghurt for better digestion after the meal.

Oh yea, they call foreigner as alien, so I got my alien card in order to stay there more than 90 days.

Overall there are a lot of differences between these two countries. I could not share it all in one post ><

What I could say is their online shopping system is very efficient and practical (We can deliver fruits too), delivery is very fast, normally I receive within 1-2 days.

They use their naver instead of google for server and map.

💃Stay healthy and live beautifully👸

喜欢我的分享 就不要忘记你的赞哦*
follow✔@fruityexplorer, upvote ⬆resteem and COMMENT

fruity explorer.jpg

你的支持是我的动力。Your constant support is my drive.

Follow @fruityexplorer

If you want your post sync with your Instagram SET IT Up here

imageedit_13_6159096390.jpg

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post was selected by the @dropahead Curation Team (dCT)

There a lot of interesting facts in your post. I got to learn a little more about Korean society thanks to your great article :)

Thanks for sharing, best regards.


@dropahead - Supporting your STEEM adventure

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 86%.

Well said Gabriel García Marquez: "One learns to write by writing" Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!

(1) @dropahead's quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

Thank you for the good comment. Hope you enjoy my post :) (Y) I am truly happy to hear that.

Magic Dice has rewarded your post with a 47% upvote. Thanks for playing Magic Dice.

Be sure to bring along fabric freshener, especially you're going to a Korean Barbecue restaurant. Just cost a few bucks from 7-Eleven. Have fun & Enjoy.

Yeayy normally we shower after bbq. 😅😂 Thanks for the tips.

Posted using Partiko Android

👍👍 Excellent observation and comparison there! Haha, thanks for your entry lovely alien (or what shall I call you? Fruity? ;p)!

Hehe I know no idea. Fruityalien😝?!
Quite a lot to share but I compress it!

Posted using Partiko Android

吃了吗?来 @steemgg 玩游戏吧,决战到天亮如果不想再收到我的留言,请回复“取消”。

I bet you love Korea very very much 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

😅😅 I miss the food as I couldn't find authentic korea dishes (pork stew rice soup) in Malaysia. Have you been there?

Posted using Partiko Android

When you can't find it, then you make it 😀 Nope, @davidke20 been there last year with his 旧情人 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow can't la. Essence wey. Unless I'm going to eat for a week then I only need to do it lo. 🤔😏why u know so much yea. Who's that 旧情人

For more infos, you better ask him directly 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow like that ahh. Later I kena😅.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @fruityexplorer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 40 posts. Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I spent a bit of time in Korea and really loved the wide variety of BBQ style restaurants. I could eat at those every day and never really get tired of it. The beef places were amazing also.

👍😂👏 Yes! The tenderness and freshness of the meat I couldn't find in Malaysia Korean bbq restaurant. You sound like a frequent traveller, where else have you travelled?

Posted using Partiko Android

just asia and a few places in the Caribbean. I used to be a lot more adventurous but then i got a dog... kinda limits my mobility

Nice. The dog is can be your good travel companion I guess. 😊 Looking forward for your more posts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68055.12
ETH 3813.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72