Kuching Marathon

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

This is my 11th full marathon and just to share my experience for my 2nd visit to Kuching.

This was an annual event and was held in Padang Merdeka on 12th August 2018. I went there 2 days before the event to chill out rather than 1 day before to avoid last minute queue to collect race pack.

My comment for the race pack collection was the organizer should improve the queueing system which was the same like 2017 that only few counters to accomodate thousands of runners. It took me around 1 hour to collect my race pack. Other than that everything was awesome.

Did my carbs loading 2 days before the event. Taken the infamous kolok mee, queh chap, and of course ice cream gula apong for desert.
20180912_103302.jpg

Been training vigorously for 3 months to break my personal best of sub 5 hours marathon but unfortunately, i caught flu & fever a week before.

During the race, i got severe nasal congestion which force me to walk after 7km (1st time). Usually i walk after 20km. Luckily i got enough experience to handle the situation.

I use different strategy which was through monitoring my pace through my Garmin GPS watch. Run & walk til the finishing line before the cut off time. Finished my worst time ever but thank GOD i made it at 6hr 40min. Hahaha.

I always told my fellow runners that every marathon you will learn a lesson. Lesson learned, take care of yourself with enough rest and recovery 2 weeks before the race.

20180912_093941.jpg

Before you go home, make sure you get some Sarawak delicacy the Kek lapis (layered cake) Only in Sarawak. See you next year Kuching Mararhon 2019.

20180813_122106.jpg

Sort:  

Right, I knew it, food...

The ice cream gula apong looks pretty interesting. Ice cream that tastes like apong? Hmm. 🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

Yea.. gula apong is some sort of caramel or gula melaka with an exotic taste, Sarawak style.🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice write up !! Keep it up ..

Congratulations @king-cobra! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Oh I always thought you pump up your carbs about 12 hours before the run to have those maximum impact; but then again, I heard a carb consumption takes 3 days to burn off before the remains turn into fat so I guess getting your carb intake 2 days before should still be all right. lol...

upvoted

Hi.. take carbs 3 days prior to race is advisable. The carbs will remain in your body as energy for 3 days before it turns into fats on the fourth day. Taking heavy carbs for 42km is necessary but for shorter distance eg. 21km or 10km is not necessary. Or else it will end up gaining 1 kg.😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Your post has been manually curated by littlenewthings

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65