Precious life: the story of Missyblurkit, and why organizers should do their due diligence.

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

It was a Sunday morning 5 AM.
I woke up and grabbed my phone as part of my bad morning ritual, still groggy and contemplating whether I should go for a run or the yoga mat. As I scroll down my social media feed, one update caught my attention, and it wasn't something that I expect to see to someone I know and close with.

Evelyn Ang? That's terrible.
Let me put the picture here. Evelyn Ang is the author and the owner of the blog Missyblurkit: http://www.missyblurkit.com/. A popular bubbly figure in the Malaysian running scene, and one of the brand ambassadors that I am currently working with.

She was one of the pacers who has been assigned to lead the Sub-6 hours' marathon pace group during yesterday's Klang International Marathon run.

Hadafi, who thankfully, escaped with minor injuries told us that the driver was unresponsive to his pleas as he clung to the car until the car went into the ditch. It sounded like a fucked up story when the driver who later arrested, was tested negative for alcohol and drug abuse.

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2017/12/10/marathon-runner-still-in-critical-condition/


Picture courtesy of Royal Malaysian Police

There are a lot of questions running through my head when I heard the stories, such as:

  • How could a car hit two pacers who were leading a big group of marathoners?
  • Where were the marshalls?
  • Didn't they close the roads?
  • What did the organizers do?

I don't know the credibility of the sources (since it's on Facebook only) but, it seems like the Klang City International Marathon had not been doing their due diligence properly.

To sum up, the traffic control was bad, cars are everywhere and people's lives are pretty much in danger


All I can do is just send my prayers hoping that Eve will wake up soon and be able to resume life as it was.

Stay strong Evelyn and family. Let's go run when you are awake.

And I hope that all sporting event organizers will take this incident to be reminded that you can't cut corners and people's lives are at stake when you are organizing an event.

#prayforevelynang


Hmm... I should put a post-script here, like those cool writers.
A Mirian at heart, a Francophonic Sarawakian that tries to practice kaizen and the art of Life.

Maybe I'll find a mentor on this platform.
Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @legrandkei to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62184.89
ETH 2995.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97