All About Kitchen: #5 Pesto

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

IMG20180127150559.jpg

Most of you would probably know that pesto sauce is made from basil leaves, pine nuts, olive oil and Pecorino cheese with other seasoning, well, at least those are the basic ingredients right?

I planned to make my own version since I did not have pine nuts and Pecorino cheese is expensive here and thought of sharing with you guys my recipe. I personally think it is one of the most simple and quickest recipe, lol.

IMG20180127131837.jpg

First, I picked out two packets of basil leaves into a mixing bowl.



IMG20180127131842.jpg

Tada~~~I used 150gm of baked cashew nuts instead of pine nuts. You can also use the salted ones and if you plan to use unbaked ones, please toast them a little before you add them into the mixing bowl.



IMG20180127131902.jpg

My substitute for the Pecorino cheese~~~the PARMESAN cheese! Just because it is cheaper for me to get this compare to the former, lol. TvT I took 10 tablespoons of grated Parmesan cheese into the mixing bowl.



IMG20180127132434.jpg

I then added in about 1 teaspoons of salt & pepper each, 2 teaspoons of chopped garlic and 1 cup of olive oil into the mixing bowl.



IMG20180127132718.jpg

Using a hand blender, I blended everything into a rough but smooth paste. I adjusted the seasoning as I went along. if you have a blender machine you can use that as well. Instead of mixing everything into a mixing bowl, just put everything inside the blender and blend until you are satisfy with the texture. Once I am done, I removed the pesto sauce and kept it inside a container and chilled it. By the way, this recipe is quite a lot so you can adjust the recipe according to your preference.



IMG20180127150609.jpg

Pesto sauce can be used for many things. You can use it as a base for pizzas, mixing it with cream can become sauce for deep-fried chicken chop (I'm not kidding, it is delicious...), and in my case, I'm using it to make vegetarian pasta~

I do realised some vegetarian do not eat onions and garlics, and some do not eat cheese as well, but if you are fine with the ingredients inside the pesto sauce you can try to make one for yourself too!

What I did was just sauteed a little garlic and onion, added mushrooms, tomatoes and bell peppers into the pan, seasoned with just a pinch of salt and pepper (if your pesto sauce is flavourful enough you do not need to add any more seasoning into the pan.) and then added in a big spoonful of the pesto sauce I made earlier. Lastly, I added in 160gm of cooked linguine pasta and mixed them all together. I finished the pasta with a pinch of Parmesan cheese and rocket salad on top of the pasta.

I hope this post is helpful and do let me know if any of you tried this recipe and how did you find it in the comment box below~~


LAST BUT NOT LEAST



IMG20180127150624.jpg

I HOPE THIS HAS BEEN AN ENJOYABLE AND ENTERTAINING READ! THANKS FOR DROPPING BY!!



IMG20180126172033.jpg

You can also check out my previous posts of the same series below:

All About Kitchen #1
All About Kitchen #2
All About Kitchen #3
All About Kitchen #4
Sort:  

really great post.. I like your post very much.. Keep it up.. Hope so you will be a great steemer on steemit.. Stay blessed.. be happy :) thanks for sharing your information..
@cleverbot @banjo

Thanks for the advice, but I must take the risk.

@samantha3105 ,Thank you for your compliment, i wish you many blessings and happiness too...and also all the best in your steemit journey...thanks for coming around. xoxo :)

El plato es una obra maestra. Se ve delicioso.

Im so sorry but i do not understand your language, but thank you still for dropping by... :)

Good post. Really informative and useful

Thank you!! :D

Woww... Amazing food:)

Thank you!! :D

yum... glad to nominate this for ocd-resteem!

Thank you so much!! :D

Pestos are pastas that I love the most. It has this wonderful kick that I could not explain. I mix some amount of Tabasco sauce in it as well because I like to eat it very spicy. Yum!

Wow...maybe i should try to add some Tabasco sauce inside my pesto too...it really sounds interesting...thanks for dropping by!! :D

Really easy to follow and looks so delicious! I'm making a list of new recipes I want to try cooking and this just made it. Thanks!

Oh wow...ao glad to hear about this!! All the best in your try-outs and thanks for coming by!! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79