Flood in Penampang Since I can Remember !!!

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

Part of my life I grew up in Penampang, a District about 20min away from the City Center of Kota Kinabalu, this is the place I pick up the language of Kadazan, if not because I stay here, I think would be 100% Chinese and English verse now. Thank you to my Grandparents whom I stayed with. Back to the topic of Penampang Flood.

Penampang is home to the Kadazan Dusun Tribe, in the early days, this tribe was one of the most feared tribes in the Sabah. They are known to be Warriors and Headhunters in those days, as a child, I always hear folktales from my Grandparents and Great Uncle/ Aunties.

When I was staying with my grandparents in Kg Hungab, quite near to the Donggongon town actually, walking distance of 10min. I always have the sense of simple life, only a small TV in the Living Room, and a small radio. I also have the privilege to have my same age cousin around the village. where we rumble and play a lot during those days.

my grandparent's house is built on stilts, I can say its about 1200-1500 sqft, about 4 rooms with elevation height 4ft above ground. At the bottom of the house, my granddad rear chicken and pigs (more so for own consumption and sometimes barter trading with other villagers).

During each heavy downpour in Penampang, my beloved Kg Hungab will be flooded. It will be the busiest time for my grandparents and us because we need to save our chicken and pigs getting drown from the flood. Where to put them, We have a verandah where most relative will gather on top of the house, my granddad will bring up the pig to the verandah and me and cousins will help to catch the smaller pigs to bring up too. Same goes for the Chickens and Hens.

The Flood in penampang as far as I can recall goes back as early days when my mother still young (story told by them). So imagine right now, after 30-50 years we are still facing the same damn old problem. Flood during my time, can go up to 6-7ft height, as my grandparent's house is 4ft higher than the ground, imagine when the water height from the main house goes up to 6ft, I will be in 2ft water height from my feet (I was 13 then). Imagine how was my view outside the House, Sea of Flood.

Today I would like to share a few pics on the recent flooding Penampang where almost the how Penampang is flooded.

b15f2adc-a7ab-4706-9f4d-e71b0b59450a (1).jpg

29d3618a-bce8-43ae-8fee-6461dd40a8ca.jpg

163d5261-259d-4ff0-985b-b41c9e7edd90.jpg

117ff4fa-d054-4d97-932f-6b873252ac65.jpg

Scary isn't it? I really hope the government will undertake immediate measure to tackle this flood problem since we have a new government now.

Ps: All Photos is from My Personal Whatapps Group (Strictly for Own Use)


Who Am I & Why I am Here?

I am Alvin 'aka' @veenang who loves good food and enjoy engaging with people from all walks of life and meeting interesting, creative and intelligent people.

I am a SMALL Pioneer Tourism Buff in Sabah, Malaysia, Borneo. I ACCEPT STEEM for Hotel Booking in MALAYSIA and also Tours in Sabah, Malaysia, BORNEO. YES, YOU HEARD IT RIGHT!!! Do check out my post by clicking

Here for more details or chat me in Discord veenang#2913

Why Steemit ???
Unlike other social media platform, we can actually earn a reward by writing good quality contents (Blogging) and commenting on Steemit platform.

How to Join???
Steemit is Free to Sign Up, you may click HERE and it will lead you to the Sign-Up page. What are you waiting For? Sign Up Now!!!

"Steemit is NOT a Race, it's a DAMN LONG Marathon that NEVER ends" @veenang

Search me at Discord veenang#2913


Credit to @cklai for #teammalaysia Sabah Logo


Credit to @cklai for doing this GIF Banner

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Wow. Kesian o. It must be really tiring, cleaning all the mud from the flood.

very much kesian @aphours!!! some veen total loss

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59