Daily Love #1 - I am Proud to be Malaysian !

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

Malaysian Flag

Daily Love - #1

Today is a Monday. Yesterday was a Sunday. Tomorrow will be a Tuesday.

Today is the 14th of May. I have just been introduced to SteemIt by @orangila. I have to thank him from the bottom of my heart and even give him a big car if I ever make it as a writer. To me, SteemIt is as good as Uber. You determine how much work you put in and it is guaranteed that you will earn cash, even if it is just 1 cent. That is still money. If you want to earn more than that, you just got to put in the work, see what works and what doesn’t and keep writing till you make it.

On the 9th of May 2018, my country Malaysia went through a very big transformation. Without riots, violence or disharmony, a new government was elected. Tension and fear were rife, news agencies all over the world predicted there will not be a change in government. We thought that a lot of dirty tactics will be used to return the rule of the old government. Not because of the wishes of the people, but because the system could be manipulated for this to happen.

Since the 1MDB scandal that rocked the nation with Government Official Number 1 and Jho Low in the spotlight, Malaysians have felt that our country was not in the hands of a good leader. Our economy hasn’t been fairing well, food was getting more expensive, the GST was introduced and all of us were living each day not knowing what tomorrow will be like. Bangladeshis who have come to my country to find work have found the ringgit depreciating year after year. Soon, they too find that it is too hard to find a living to send money home to their families. So they had to leave.

A lot of us Christians have been praying and hoping for a better tomorrow. On the 4th of May 2018, the Catholic Church held a prayer rally, where devotees prayed from 7PM to 7PM the next day. Many of us have been praying that the election will turn out right. For me, I have been praying not that the current government win the elections. That whatever happens, I pray that Malaysia will continue to develop and prosper. We believe that God will give us what we need and that the Lord will take care of us Malaysians no matter what.

Considering the throwing of molotov cocktails, rioting, looting, marches, rallies or any other ways of showing dissatisfaction did not take place. Instead, we stayed as peaceful as we could be, yet in our hearts, we were praying that a change will take place. No matter the religion, whether Islam, Buddhism, Hinduism or Christianity, we were all praying for a miracle. To our surprise and excitement, our prayers were answered that very night on May the 10th 2018.

Malaysians weren’t this peaceful in the past. There were many people that took to the streets and did many horrible things to each other in the year 1969, May the 13th. Racial tensions ran high and a lot of us resulted in violence to try and make things right. But fast forward 40 years later, we, the people of Malaysia, have grown in spirit and evolved to become peaceful citizens of the world. There has been an annual rally called Bersih for 3 years in a row if I am not mistaken, where Malaysians took to the streets for a walk in the hundreds of thousands to show their displeasure of a corrupt government. Looks like their efforts have paid off.

We, the Malaysian people, are a peaceful people. For that, I am proud to call myself Malaysian. We prayed for a miracle and then it happened.


It’s the second week of May 2018. How time really flies. Semester 3 also flew by very fast. My counsellor was in shock when she said that I have already finished up the semester. There will be just another 2 more semesters before I graduate from Taylor’s Masters of Communications program. I have always fought myself trying to balance writing and studying, not knowing how to divide my time. I want to do well in my Masters. Ever since my fall from grace from A class to B class when I was 15, I have never really been able to study that well. Then psychosis hit at 17 in Form 4. That got myself in even a worse state. Even though I really loved going to school in Canada, I had a lot of difficulty getting up as my medication makes me very sleepy. That was the early days of my meds. So I was still coping with it. I really wanted to go to school. But the more I wanted to go and the harder I tried, the more I slept. I said with my dream of going to Harvard, I should be able to get up and be motivated to go to school. I slept even more ever since.

I can’t believe it has been 18 years since I went to Canada for Pre-U when I life changed forever. I continue to pray and go to church, knowing that things happen in its own time, seasons come and go, the world turns even if you stand still. Doesn’t matter how you grow. As long as you are growing, things will continue to improve.

Sort:  

Fantastic!!!!!! You're going to do very well on Steemit if you keep up this perspective!!!! I'm almost tempted to bring you into this group that is in this week because your drive is high!

But... let's be patient. We will see what happens - but at the very least - you'll be in the following week's group - if you keep up the excellent work

Really impressive @victorholyo!!!!!
~@dreemsteem, for the Welcome Wagon

Thank you @dreemsteem. I'm glad you visited.

Hey Victor! Salam Sejahtera. Yeah....still celebrating this new Malaysia reboot !

All the prayers certainly helped , so proud to be a Malaysian. Despite all these challenges we stuck it out together and made history.

Catch you on team tarik Sunday or the discord chat soon.

Hi @kchitrah! Thanks for leaving a comment. I'm very thankful that we the rakyat finally got what we wanted. See you this Sunday :)

Yes, brought us together faster than a dispute over crispy rendang . Lol.

Catch you in Sunday. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99