Our House Renovation Progress Update #2! Tiring Saturday Morning Yet We Are Grateful About It!

in #teammalaysia6 years ago


Made in Canva.com

Last week, after met my first renovation contractor I started to read more information from management, our neighbourhood messenger group, and from mobile app about house rules and the process of proceeding with the renovation. Apparently, the process is quite simple and straightforward, just a little bit of tedious.

So What You Need to Do? Not Just Ask Contractors to Start Work?

I thought so as well in the beginning until I learned from few owners from the neighbourhood that I need to submit renovation form from the mobile app. Then management will review and approve my application if my renovation is fulfilled their requirement. Otherwise, it will take a longer time to review and get approval. Once my application is approved I will need to register all my contractors' name and ID in the mobile app for another approval again! See, tedious right?

My contractors only allow to go to my unit and start working on the renovation once I get the second approval from management. The approval duration I would say quite fast and I'm pretty like how fast and convenient it is by using the technology rather than manually fill in the form and hand to management. You just need to submit all the name 1-day advance before they come to your unit.

So on last Friday, I called my contractor to give me their name and ID for those workers will come to my unit on last Saturday. So he gave me about 5/6 workers and I just key into the mobile app and submit for approval. My approval gets approved before 5 pm and I submit around 11 am on Friday, pretty fast! and I love it! It just the process of getting things done quite tedious. So fast forward to next day morning...

Saturday Morning...

Since they will come over to my unit on Saturday so I just drop by and have a quick check. We were early and those workers were not yet arrived so I just hang out at my home with Tifa. Random check our house and see if we missed out any defect or missed out something urgent that need to buy for our house when we move in.

Just about we wanted to have a random check, suddenly I receive a call from my guardhouse and to my surprise someone from the contractor's side coming in but their name wasn't on the list. At that moment, I was a little bit pissed off. But, is OK, it is just a small matter and most important is get things done without delay. So I asked for the name (Andy, not real name) and call James to verify. So he missed out Andy and I have to register him now in the mobile app. I drove my car to the management office quickly and ask if I can get approval immediately and told the management lady that my guy was waiting outside guardhouse now. The management lady was so kind and willing to help me to approve on the spot right after I submit from the mobile app. Thank god! People said if you are kind, you will attract kind people to your life! So I guess I'm a kind guy? :D

But Sometimes Things Don't Go So Smooth Too!

Supposed once the management lady approved my application and the guardhouse will receive Andy name and ID in the system within 5 minutes. But the guardhouse system didn't get updated after 15-20 minutes so we go check at management office again and the lady shows me the application was approved and nothing can be done from her side. She was kind enough and call one of the IT guys I think to come over to the management office and figure it out.

After the IT guy check for a while and I think he couldn't fix the system on the spot so he helps me talk to the guard and told the guard that Andy was approved in the system and let him in.

After Andy comes in and he has the key to my unit so I let him and his workers do their work. I left management office right after as I have other stuff to do and I'm slightly late already.

Even though the mobile app is very convenient for users. However, I think their backend system doesn't work so well or maybe just behave such a way on that day. I'm so grateful that renovation progress seems faster than I expected! :)

The Mighty Mobile App 'Graaab'


Source

Oh ya, the mobile app that I keep mentioned in this post is called Graaab (I know what you thinking inside your mind! Graaab is not riding sharing app! They have added 2 'a' if you look closely!). Graaab is a community and security system which provides mobile apps to consumers, a web portal system for admin to approve and communicate with house owners, and a tablet security system for guardhouse to verify registered visitors to enter the compound.

Will post more pictures once I get the renovation workers done some progress!


Note: All photos are taken from Pixabay.com unless stated otherwise
Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

You are a KIND guy! :D
This is the first time I heard of Graaab...
Feels like graaaab that guy!!! Thieeef!!! LOL

LOL, when I first saw it I was like "Why grab why?! Why no other name meh?" Feel like Graaab copy Grab. Thank you for the compliment :D

I think you're a 'fungi' too! (fun... guy... get it?) hehehehe
And congrats on the love nest!

Haha thank you @tzeching! :)

Home renovation is always a long process, and if you want to make high-quality repairs once and for many years, then you should pay attention to purchasing really high-quality building materials, paints, and so on. I can recommend ROMAN wallpaper primers if you plan to hang wallpaper. I'm not a fan of wallpaper, but I know that for many people it is still a versatile way to update the look of their rooms.

Thanks for the updates, I also had a lot of difficulties especially with painting the house until I found a solution. A professional painter can offer valuable advice on color selection, paint types, and finishes to achieve the desired look and longevity for your home. They can also identify any underlying issues such as mold or water damage that may need to be addressed before painting, helping you maintain the integrity of your property.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97