THAT SINKING FEELING

in #teamnz5 years ago (edited)

Like all of us who have been around a while, eventually I've come to recognise that sinking feeling.

I know that a couple of my Steemit friends are about to do posts revealing some very deep and very dirty Steemit secrets, and I wanted to write this post before reading them.

Undoubtedly they will involve events around 23 March 2016 (my birthday!), and reveal that nothing in the inner depths of Steemit is what it appears - yes, we have all been scammed one way or another.

https://steemit.com/history/@greer184/steem-history-march-23-2016

Last night I watched an old episode of Monty Python from way back in 1969. Like a lot of old stuff it had layers of innovation and creativity, the likes of which has long disappeared from the world we live in now. And while watching, I hoovered down some primo bud from my Pax 3 vape and afterwards did a picture on my Samsung tablet.


We have tools now that people in 1969 wouldn't have dreamt of, but despite that, we are missing something - not a technology but a spirit of fearless creativity.

It's hard to believe now, but there was a time when music really meant something. I had the good fortune to come of age in the 90's. Sometimes when I want to revisit what it was like to have hope, energy, and no fear at all, I listen to music from 91. There were so many great albums from that year, but the three I listened to the most back then were Nirvana- Nevermind, Pearl Jam - Ten, and Jane's Addiction - Ritual de lo Habitual (Ritual of the Habit)

Just in case anyone wants a taste of 91 - I recommend this video (there were occasional moments I had back then that were a bit like that - at least in my vague memory!)

Nirvana - Breed - live 91

Sometimes when I listen to them now I feel some of that 91 energy and they recharge me, but sometimes they remind me of all those sinking feelings since, and I feel a bit bummed. When Kurt Cobain killed himself in 94 (if that is really what happened? - we are seldom told anything true) I was so angry he did that, that I couldn't listen to Nirvana for about six years. The impact was as intense as when I was told that one of my friends had just been killed in a cycling accident.

Cycling was my life, and another big part of the 90's for me was the new sport of mountain biking. Particularly downhill racing. At that point I'd never had any serious injuries - broken bones were just seen as an inconvenience. And I had no fear. But a few years later while letting rip on a big downhill run, I wiped out bigtime and smashed the living crap out of my head. It wasn't until about three months later, riding again, that I finally understood that my head was now different.

Coming into a technical section of track I braked and slowed down, and my friends got away from me. Afterwards, it dawned on me what had just happened - I'd felt fear and slowed down. And the sinking feeling was the knowledge that I probably wouldn't ever ride fast without fear again. There is a well known book "Feel the fear and do it anyway" and on the one hand I'm sure there is wisdom to that saying but on the other I'm not convinced it's possible to recreate those fearless moments in any kind of deliberate way. They are organic and come from forces way beyond our own control.

A few years later, for some reason my fear did go away for a few minutes at a big downhill race and I posted the fastest qualifying run. But in the finals it came rushing back, and after a minor crash I came 13th. At least I got my photo in the paper as a reminder of what it was like to have no fear. It was pretty fucking awesome. I think any of us who have ever experienced that feeling will never forget it, and probably never really accept living in a state of fear - fuck that shit...


So back to Steemit - lately I've hesitated to post comments, and even hesitated to cast votes - because the chances are high it will lead to a flagging. I'm not publicly engaging with my own friends for fucks sake, because this is no longer a free platform. Only two years ago, it was very different. If this is all some psyop designed to either rip us off or make us scared to post anything controversial - all I can say is - for me that bullshit has to end today.

I had hopes of a free platform where we could say what we wanted to, but if everything we've worked for on Steemit can be taken away by a bunch of censorship bots, then I have nothing other than the friends I've made on Steemit. And if I have to talk to them in private because this platform is being watched and censored, then the end is nigh.

Sorry to be such a negative cunt, but I have no desire to post recipes - that is not my gig (I do like eating them though) I want to discuss things like any possible CIA involvement in Steemit, and why so many of my favourite Steemians have quit posting... Are we allowed to do that? - I don't know, but there is only one way to find out.

 




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.frot.co.nz/design/conspiracies/that-sinking-feeling/

Sort:  

We have entered a time when speaking one's mind has become radically dangerous. Like, downhill racing, but with caltraps, landmines and snipers.

Now, instead of having people upset at you, it is now people are denying you the ability to live. Taking away funding (noPayPal and Patyeon) because of political disagreements. Soon, it will be taking away banking. Next, will be that you can't shop at the supermarket.

It is a dead writer
No, he was just resting
This writer has gone to meet its maker

After watching so many people freaking out over the censorship of @thedorkoverload while not even noticing that the whole platform is being flagged to oblivion, we need to either speak our minds or just give up and quit.

This is way beyond OK:

I hope your bogan ass is next. It was awesome when lunatics just posted here and got nothing. Now whenever i look at crazy shit it is you, ausbitbak, fulltimeschitzo's bots, informationwar, c-coconut and ura soul are all upvoting it. You want to turn this place into the looney bin.

But you aren't getting flagged for posting crazy shit, you are getting flagged for racism, transphobia, homophobia, anti semitism etc. Portaying this as a war on conspiracy theorists or conservatives sounds good but it's not true.

A large part of the community cannot speak out about this shit for fear. I'm powering down and quitting, and I am going to speak my fucking mind as i leave too. Don't think the echo chamber of the comments sections of these posts equals widespread support here.

I won't read or respond to anything you say, I do not engage people who thik steemit is psyop and the CIA is flagging you and the moon landing was faked. You are fucking nuts, and your friends are nuts too.

Let's say you are right and he is all of those things... crazy, bigoted... etc.

Why silence him? What is the goal? Why not either debate or ignore? Again think past the social programming. What is the goal?

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

I don't know it was originally intended to be and I'm not even sure what you're suggesting that it is now. I can tell you that for me it is a platform to write fiction and other blog pieces. I like it here and I think the community can still pull together and still make this platform a great place to be even if there are some bad actors and negative influencers in the mix.

I'm now thinking a financial scam was built into the original code, and that the current waves of flagging censorship are designed to control the content to some extent and scare off "conspiracy theorists" as far as possible.

Because I'm involved in those circles I've seen several of my contacts come under attack and that has really been ramped up in the past few months.

There are a lot of awesome people here and I'm a big fan of most of the community. But over the past two years you might say standards have dropped. In 2016 most of us would not have put up with bot vote flag attacks on selected accounts - we would have freaked out!

I have multiple accounts and enough back up to usually unflag myself (just like you do) - but only from smaller flaggots. Any new accounts, even well known researchers - with no wallet power - are screwed, and I have seen them wiped off the platform in less than two months.

Post away dude. This flagging crap is just that, censorship by a minority.
proxy.duckduckgo.jpg
Watch those bumps.

Stylish!

I've already found out several more theories about all this stuff today. I'm trying to tread carefully because this is playing with fire, and looking down the rabbit hole is quite an eye opener. Sometimes I wish it wasn't in my nature to even look!

You are the go to guy for theories. Most boil down to following the money.

In this case I think there is also a big serving of social control along with the money

And the sinking feeling was the knowledge that I probably wouldn't ever ride fast without fear again.

When I hit a car at 120 mph after he pulled out in front of me as he forgot his glasses, and broke my right knee in 10 places, (still got 4 screws in it now) I felt the same whilst in my hospital bed, I thought after the surgeon looked at my fibreglass helmet that was cracked in half and said "I should be dead" that I would never go fast again without fear, and here I am all those years later doing it still, that was 1991 and nothing has changed in my head, I guess we are not all the same after all my friend, :-)

Yeah - I've got some hardware in my knee too, but the head thing is not all psychological - there are some missing skills there as well ...

The injuries I got in 94 eventually lead to all the shit that made me the broken relic I am today - but none of us last forever as you well know

As Freddie sang, "who wants to live forever" anyway. :-)

CIA - lol

Steemit / STEEM is a ponzi coin a shitcoin a bullshit token used to enrich the beginning con men. I enjoy while I could.

That too - but what if the con angle is just a cover for a much bigger psyop?

Also start with a look into Dan's dad's work history and ask who really controls Steemit

a bigger psyop? Facebook.. yah. Steem? Hahaha no. I'm sure some bullshit comes up on some threads but it's no different than the comment section on zerohedge etc..

I don't think we are that important.

Are the rats in a lab important? - they are test subjects.

Fakebook is the best psyop they have in social media, but Steemit is a much better place for trying new experiments - they are doing several pretty big ones as we speak.

But this is stuff that can be discussed on Discord, not here!

.....Yeah, we're on the same page.

.....although I do think discussing 'here', would be great fun!

i can't be arsed switching accounts again!

yes sent you four replies!

🎁 Hi @frot! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @cryptothoughts!

Check out @cryptothoughts blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @clayboyn and has been upvoted and will be featured in the weekly philosophy curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Congratulations @frot! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4500 replies. Your next target is to reach 4750 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94