Spiritual Help - 5C

in #teamnz6 years ago

Spiritual Help - 5C

Immanuel Lutheran Church NYC-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 45mm F8 1/160 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



This is actually the last shot of the photos I took for this post, but I thought it was a fun shot and apt for sharing on a Sunday so I am starting with it.

THis guy was just settingup his stand, but I had spoken to him earlier and he was a very nice guy and proud of his church, but that I will get to later in the post.

Immanuel Lutheran Church NYC.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/200 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



So here is a shot of the Chutch itself, it is located on 88th Street near Lexington Ave, and according to a lady who was passing by it is one of the oldest churches in NYC, I couldnt find to much about it online, but I did find out that it was constructe din 1886 by German immigrants and is a gothic style.

Immanuel Lutheran Church NYC-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 46mm F8 1/400 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



Her eis a closer in shot of the Steeple, such cool detail standing out against the blue Sky.

Immanuel Lutheran Church NYC-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/60 ISO 125
Click here to view larger


And here is the bright red door to the church, seems red doors on churches is quite common, and apparently has varied meanings, it can symbolize the sacrificial blood of Christ, and also a reminder of Passover and a sign of the Holy Spirit, but also the red doors indicate a place of sanctuary, refuge and safety.

Now the doors to this church were locked, I usually would not try as I feel funny taking photos inside a church, but after someone asked me what another church was like inside I decided to try this door, but they were locked.

Now, of course, being locked the doors sort of go against the place of Sanctuary, I remember growing up Church doors were never locked, I guess that's another sad sign of the times.

However..

The guy in the first photo, saw me taken the photo of the church and asked me if I wanted to see the inside of it, and opened the door for me to go in, which I thought was quite nice of him.

I did take some photos in the church after asking if that was OK, and that will be a future post.


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.780831 lat -73.954623 longImmanuel Lutheran Church 88th Street NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Thank you @tattoodjay for joining Photochain's photography contest. We appreciate your support and will reward you for each entry.

This contribution earned you 10 XP and 30 photons.
Don't forget to comment on other #photochaincommunity contributions to increase your XP multiplier and earn even more!

Daily statsOverall stats
Daily contributions: 1/∞Current level: 3
Daily XP: 10/∞Total XP: 380
Daily Photons: 30Total Photons: 810
Multiplier: 1XP required to level up: 390
Comments: 0/5Total contributions: 38

To receive the reward contact @runicar on Discord with your Ethereum wallet.
More info can be found at the contest announcement post.
Read more about Photochain on this post.
Visit photochain.io.
Try out the demo.

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=spiritual-help-5c


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you for your contribution to the "pc-architecture" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

What a beautiful church. I love the stand that the man had set up. I bet it would have been neat to talk to him. Looking forward to seeing some of the pictures you took inside. Well done @tatoodjay! Happy Sunday

@birdsinparadise He was such a nice guy, I gave him a few dollars so some people needing to talk didn't have to pay the 5C, a silly little gesture but it made me feel good

This church is one of my favorites that you have shared with us. :D

@debralee It is such a beautiful one both outside and inside, I still have the photos from inside to edit for a future post

This is such an interestng post @tattoodjay The architecture on the cathedral is quite spectacular and I loved the quirky and very unique invitation for spiritual help in the first image. I think it is a great way to instigate a conversation. (U & R )

@trudeehunter I thought the same with the little stand and sign, thanks so much for your support

What a beautiful building :)

@karenb54 and inside it is really nice as well still need to edit those photos

Looking forward to seeing the inside :)

Hopefully this week sometime I will find time to edit them


Couldn't help but think of this lol. Great photos. Classic old style gothic steeple juxtaposed against modern skyscraper is a very good shot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86