Run Forrest! Run!

in #teamsouthafrica7 years ago

I have never been a huge fan of running! Luckily, I love the outdoors! I have fond childhood memories of Sunday walks in the Kirstenbosch forest. They make me think of my Dad. He loved to find a good walking stick along the way!

If I close my eyes I can still feel the cool air from the tree canopy on my skin, I can hear the crackle of leaves and twigs underfoot and the fresh, leafy smell of that forest lingers in my mind!

While us kids would hike in our tekkies, Dad loved his leather hiking boots and would give them a loving coat of dubbin... and I’d be happy to help!

When my Dad died in June these words uttered by Forrest Gump had much more meaning,

“Mama always said, dying was a part of life. I sure wish it wasn’t.”

I have begun to feel less and less immortal since my Dad passed and hope to take better care of myself than I have been

“You have to do the best with what God gave you.” – Mrs. Gump

So I started spending just 30min a day on a treadmill, I now run, not very fast but I run!

A month ago I ran my first park run, that day I thought a family park run would be a really nice thing! We had a failed attempt on the 3rd on Nov, but yesterday.... SUCCESS!

I was so proud of our “walk” our youngest is 7 and managed the whole 5km!

07BFCF2A-DB19-484B-BD6D-C78AC281AF96.jpeg

I made a little memory video clip and posted it to my Instagram @carjhb

Feel free to take a look!

Sort:  

Doesn't Steemit make for a good journal entry?Something to 'paste' into a digital journal.

Here's to your Dad.

Blessings to your family. They are awesome.

@driva has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

How do send 1 SBD?

Go to your wallet. Click the drop down arrow next to your SBD balance. Select transfer. Enter @minnowpond in the 'to block' and paste https://steemit.com/teamsouthafrica/@carjhb/run-forrest-run into the 'memo block'. Specify the amount and click send.

Thanks @graviton! I don’t have enough SBD yet but maybe next time!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67651.53
ETH 3845.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65