Sort:  

Kudos to you! I stopped working for a boss a very long time ago and two of my children are also successfully self-employed! A trick if I may is to never put all of your eggs in one basket! All blessings to you!

Thank you kind sir! I will diversity my eggs, thank you. Hold thumbs for me, please ;)

Way to go @darnscotty once you settle and find your path on your own you will never look back.

Being retrenched way back in 2008 I have never looked back, the decision was made for me, life is exciting with a lot to learn, way more than that daily grunge work.

As Stephen said, don't put all your eggs in one basket and enjoy your new adventure, life is too short not to!

Wow, you were put into an awkward position and it seems to have turned out for the better for you? I do have the stress of meeting some month end payments, but I did save up some money. In the post I did say that I am going to diversify a bit and spend my time on 2x Steemit channels, Etsy shop and crypto videos.

I am glad to see that it does work out at the end, I will have to put the ground work in first. I will most probably try to find out a lot from the Discord channel about Steemit and how it operates now. Any tips are always appreciated!

Hey, @darnscotty, happy for you that you've taken the liberating step! As someone who's on the second round of her own company (I resigned from my job in 1999 working for a Canadian company which wanted to repatriate me from South Africa to Canada - I was 37 at the time), I can testify to the deep satisfaction we can get from turning our creative juices to creating value on our own terms.

So why second, you ask? Well, 9/11 hit my little company hard - and let's face it, I couldn't even spell risk management at the time - and I ended up joining one of my South African clients as an employee again. I was retrenched middle of last year from another company and decided to use the opportunity to create a new venture, hopefully wiser or at the very least more knowledgeable on how to build a well-governed, value-creating initiative.

All of this to say it sounds like you've started on an exciting path with a lot of potential to create value in your world! Congratulations and I hope you enjoy the journey. Thanks so much for sharing it on Steemit - in many ways a global community of entrepreneurs, so a built-in group of cheerleaders, coaches and oracles who can share their own experiences and learnings. 😊😊

Thank you for stopping by @kiligirl, it's refreshing to see the enthusiasm here on Steemit. Even more interesting is the fact that we all have our own stories a& our own paths and to listen to where a lot of us were and where they have grown from. There is a lot of support, knowledge, guidance and information sharing on this site, but the global sense is the same. To have a means of an income.

The last couple of days since I posted this, I have to admit that I have noticed that my emotions and stress levels are going haywire. My personal pendulum is swinging around and I have to learn how to deal with centering myself.

The path will be a rockier one than what I am accustomed to, but luckily for me it has been travelled a couple of times.

So you were born in Canada? Besides work, why did you decide to move to the South of Africa?

Hi @darnscotty, for what it's worth, you might need to work on the nerves of steel part as you get used to not having a steady, predictable income in the short term. Cute young things offering you credit cards and all you have to do is provide 3 months of salary slips as proof of income...things like that are reminders that you've joined the other world of Not Salarimen. I'm not surprised your emotions are going haywire. You'd be a little odd if they didn't. You're finding a new normal and it's weird. There will be lots of support and guidance available! A big part of being an entrepreneur is psychological...and cricket. Getting 1s and 2s on the board instead of waiting for sixes. Those 1s and 2s can build into steady income in a shorter time than you expect. And just like in cricket, keeping your eyes on the ball. In this case, the ball is the question "Why am I doing this?" Thinking about what value you, @darnscotty, entrepreneur extraordinaire, can create with your unique talents and capabilities. A lot, I'll bet!

On me: I was actually born in England, and moved to Canada when I was 6 (ok, that was the parents moving - we followed along). I moved to South Africa for many reasons, starting with work (was transferred here by the Canadian company I was working for at the time), but I was waiting for that opportunity to open up as I'd been working off and on in Southern Africa since 1989, with Zambia as the hub of my work activities. Saw poinsettias growing as big as trees and "flowering" without having to be put in cupboards for 12 hours a day, and was hooked by Africa. The story was a bit more complicated than that, including a couple of dignity- and butt-bruising falls on the ice in January as I was walking to work in Montreal - I just decided to respond to the pull of Africa. When the company closed the office in Joburg a couple of years later and said "We're bringing you home," I had a light bulb moment that this is truly home, warts and all. So here I am. Home.

Good job man. I wish I had the balls to do it but with a girlfriend and kids to support I need to get something sorted first. I'm hoping Steem will be the answer but I need to pull my finger out and write some decent content. I wish you the best of luck. Steem on !!!

Hey @jimbobbill, it has taken balls to resign and I can clearly see what I am worth to the owner who I worked for now. Some mornings I do wake up and see that my balls retracted a bit... 😄
I am in the fortunate position not to have kids yet, meaning I can keep my expenses down. The challenge is to find things to write about!

I have another channel, @motorsport and I sat and worked out which dates I am going to write posts for the whole year. It's a topic that I like and I think I should be able to push at least 170 posts out this year on that channel alone. I am looking to use the Steem that i receive to build up the Steem Power of the channel, promote my posts to receive a higher payout and to pay some bills.

What are your interests? I saw some posts about crypto? At least you are trying to put one post per day. That's good, it creates a continuous flow of income.

A year ago I decided to take 6 months off of work, and Im still not working. I realised soon after I quit that work had really been impacting in my free time :)

I agree! The company I am in the process of resigning from sold their Cape Town warehouse a couple of years ago. Since then they have retracted out of the city, while growing in the city they are, Durban. As with any business, there are a lot of new challenges every day. Everything to streamline the business. This has taken it's toll, but more noticeably was the amount of time it took.

Time is very important to me. We have limited time and I feel that I have wasted a lot over the years, but I did gain a lot of knowledge and maturity. Everything I learn while working for the business as an area manager for sales, I am going to use it to track my own life rather.

Took 6 months off work and still not working - lol! I am sure that you are, but not for that company!

The world is waking up and knowledge is flowing freely. If you have a question, your friend Google will always find good answers. With the influx of new Blockchain technology companies, i think we will see a massive shift from having a middle man or a business to more peer-to-peer interaction and payments.

The next couple of years are going to be interesting.

Do it dude!
Im really happy for you.

I did the same thing 3 years ago, and even though Im in my 20s I made a choice to save up and live freely ofr 12 months, I knew that its was tghe best time to travel and experience life, from parties to finding myself and it felt like a gap year at the perfect time in my life.

It was such a growing experience and I needed it , for my sanity.
It also taught me about the things I would not stand for.
Which is why when I started working again, I made sure that I would be happy in my work space or I would leave.

It gave me the ability to express myself the way I do today and Steemit is a great platform for that!

I totally believe you can do it! Also polish your creative abilities, people pay for freelance and you see to be on the right track to it!

by the way, thank you for the push up! Appreciated :D

Thank you for the positive feedback, @fates. GLad to see that you have been through it and experienced it! Normally I do not listen to the radio while driving. I like peace and quiet so that I can concentrate and think. This morning was the first time in a long time I turned on the radio and noticed life getting its colour back !

How can I not support self development. The human experience is what you make of it. I see that you are clearly trying to make the most of it. There is something beautiful about that. My fiance teaches me that everyday. So its wonderful to see it in the world around me too. Thank you for choosing to live, truly , for no one else but yourself so that you can , for others.

High-5 dude... and best of luck.

I did the same thing in (selling off all my businesses and quitting the rat race) about 4 years ago, and have never looked back again.

It takes balls, and you'll question yourself a lot in the beginning... but stick with it... it's totally worth the rewards once you find your groove.

You'll be fine here :) keep the quality posts coming :)

Awesome! I've been working for myself for quite some time now. incidentally I've written a series of posts about entrepreneurship - take a squiz at it, might interest you :) All the best!

That sounds like a fantastic idea, I’d better get over there! Thanks man

Awesome! I wish I could wake up one morning and do just that.

it took me a couple of months of careful planning to get where I am. I have a long way to go still, but if I can have the courage to quit, I am sure I can handle the rest 😆

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71