You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weed control - using tarps and plastics to prepare ground and control weeds

I remember when I was a child, we spent every day (except of Sunday) on a field. Even after the school we first had to go to the field and then study for the next school day (no, no, it was not 50 years ago or so). If I would have known about this solution back then, I would not end up hating work in the garden when I was younger. Getting rid of the weeds is so much work, hard work. My uncle still has many fields, but I don't recall that I've heard him to say that he would be using plastic like you do. I will mention it to him and hope it will save him some time and effort going forward.

Thank you for sharing! It is a great trick!

Sort:  

I do similar with my kids, they help a lot over the holidays, and on the weekends. It teaches them good skills and weve also given them a section that are 'their' veggies'. they then look after that section completely and also get the profits from them. They get excited for it.
I shared another post about great weeding tools that stop you from having to bend over the whole time. Because were a small farm it has allowed us as 3 people to keep the whole field weed free which would be impossible to do if you weed traditionally.
https://steemit.com/gardening/@towjam/great-weeding-tools

It's good when they you ask them to help over the holidays and weekends but in my small town we had to work everyday which kind of makes you grow up pretty fast. It's also difficult to build friendships as you can't go out at all because you don't have time..

I will check that other post. Thank you for coming back to me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59110.01
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72