Sportsmanship – how do you handle defeat?

in #teamsouthafrica6 years ago

images (2).jpg

There is a difference between being a skilled sportsman and having sportsmanship.

In today’s modern world is there even place for such a concept? Why do I say such a thing? To put it quite simply – MONEY!!

Anything else? FAME! Yes, fame is important to the superstars of the world because it means lucrative contracts, and prestige at home. Admiration from your peers.

The armchair critic watching his television knows better than the coach and even the player. Often this critic has never played the game or at the most played it as an enthusiastic amateur. They forget what it was like when they played; how they excused their own mistakes. They felt that they could do this as they certainly knew how passionate they were in their desire to win.

But these professional fellows? What the hell is wrong with them? Why can’t the coach do the most obvious thing to let the team win??

download.jpg

I watch soccer on our national television, all the local commentators, drawn from the ranks of the local elite coaches and players; the finest that South Africa has to offer, arrogantly talk the biggest load of nonsense, no wonder our Bafana Bafana languish far down the international ranking tables. I must admit there are a couple of fellows who seem to know what they are talking about.

Another thing putting such tremendous pressure on the sportsman, I am referring in particular to the Soccer World Cup being played in Russia, is the weight of expectation of their supporters. For example, the sadness in the countries who have been eliminated in the knockout stages.

Some teams are so desperate to win, the Argentinians who are among the elite teams of the world, disappointed me. When they were losing the number of brutal fouls that they committed speaks volumes to me, but in a negative light.
The Russians were wonderful and they were terribly saddened to be knocked out but I admired the Russians who were gracious in defeat.

England_team_Russia_2018.jpg

Last night I saw England beaten by a superb Croatian team. Being English speaking I know the hopes of the English public; very little achieved in so many years. England has stopped hoping but ironically as they started to hope, Croatia dashed their hopes once again. This time I admired the English for swallowing their disappointment and still supporting their own team, even in defeat. I have seen that same spirit for their supporters who support their local team, even if there are no accolades. I suppose that is one of the reasons why the Aussie cricket supporters called the English supporters the “Barmy Army”; guys who travel a long way to watch their team get clobbered by a dominant Australian cricket team.

Barmy_Army_at_the_SCG.JPG

I also admire the Japanese philosophy in particular. Courageously battle to the bitter end, even if there is no prospect of victory. I love watching some of their game shows on television; how the competitors battle on despite getting wiped out. Their audiences admire the courage and tenacity of the competitors.

It stands in stark contrast to many South Africans who just have to support the winning team. They hop from supporting one team to another. It is a pity as they will never know the intense excitement if their team one day puts a good performance together to beat a stronger team.

When I was a small kid, I used to get taken along to see the local soccer team of East London, taking on the more powerful teams of the other bigger cities. My primary interest was to get a hot pie and a cool drink at halftime. I think our team was called East London United. This was still in the old Apartheid days where teams were not multiracial. The local soccer team had a forward with the name of Alan Gamiet (I think; this was back in the 1960’s). He was so enthusiastic but there were quite a few occasions where he had an open goal to score against and he used to blast the ball wide. The whole crowd used to groan in frustration, but we never stopped supporting the lads. There was one time that Alan scored, the most spectacular of goals. He was at the right hand corner of the penalty box and he kicked a bicycle kick that went into the top left corner of the goal to score to the astonishment of the locals. We always applauded the opponents who mostly beat our local team. Teams from the mists of time past – Germiston Callies, Lusitania, Highlands Park, Arcadia Shepherds, Hellenic and Cape Town City. Cape Town City used to get the old English internationals to play for them, I can still remember Alan Ball and how fast he was, also Bobby Charlton played for them in a game or two and I remember the accuracy of his passes. I still remember the respect in my Dad’s voice when he spoke about them. Such a long time ago…

Bobby_charlton_elgrafico.JPG
(when I saw him he had no hair!)

I used to play table tennis with a good friend, but he hated losing and was a dreadful example. His motto when playing was, “show me a good loser and I will show you a loser!”. Hmmmm.

I no longer watch the Tour de France; Lance Armstrong was my hero but he was exposed as a cheat. It is too painful for me to watch nowdays.

images (1).jpg

This past week I saw Federer losing to a South African, Kevin Anderson. His conduct was marvellous to me. Despite desperately wanting to win, he lost after a marathon match. I saw some pictures of Roger walking off the court with his arm around his opponent with a smile. Being gracious in such difficult circumstances is not easy and I admire Roger’s character.

R_federer.jpg

To me that is the true hero, not necessarily a winner on the stage of sport, but in life he is a great winner.

Sort:  

It is a nice topic. To overcome defeat is actual thing . It is very nice blog. It is very good content blog and have a nice lesson.

Great post! You've earned a 50.00% upvote from @dolphinbot
Join the DolphinBot Team for Daily Payouts in Steem! Click here: http://bit.ly/dolphinbot

I heard someone say the other day that sport means as much as it does to us because it calls upon a deep seeded desire, in each of us, to see the best of mankind modeled out for us. We want to see in reality the archetype of "champion", overcoming adversity. But part of that deep seeded desire is that the hero would be simealtaneously an overcomer, and moral/scrupulous, and worthy, whatever that means.

We dont just want a winner, we want a winner that loses with grace and learns from loss to grow from it, living to fight another day kind of thing.

I think that is what you are tapping into when you say you admire this team, or that team's, courage. Call it what you will, its the hero that won't give up, the champion that tries his/her hardest despite the odds, and the hope in your heart that calls you to seek that which overcomes adversity.

This yearning for the champion archetype is in my view one pointer that humanity were made for more than this life. Why? What does spirituality have to do with it?

I think we have this desire for champion, glory, and "good" overcoming, because our souls were written with knowledge of this life being a battle ground for good and evil, and we know that the war requires a hero to lead victory.

Sports afterall are more than just a game. They are a battleground for mankind to test and prove what we were made for, in my opinion.

profound thinking, I like this

We often fail to handle us after losing the game but it's effect was very bad in our personal life. As we take the failure easily and work hard to do better in next game. Thanks sir @fred703 for the beautiful post.

Friendship is the blessing and steemit is the platform making new friendshops everyday 😍😍

Nice topic @fred703 . Sportsmanship is the ethical and moral dimension of sports. It is demonstrated by a number of attributes and attitudes such as fair play, respect for the rules and traditions of the sport and various traits of good character including integrity (abiding by the letter and spirit of the rules and concepts of honor); demonstrated respect for others including teammates, opponents, officials and spectators; accountability, self-control, and graciousness in victory and defeat.

superb definition, I really love it

Sports is a moral undertaking because it requires of participants, and it schools spectators in the appreciation of, noble things - courage, grace under pressure, sportsmanship. @fred703

also a great dimension that I appreciate

Great discussion.. @fred703. The most important lesson I've learned from sports is how to be not only a gracious winner, but a good loser as well. Not everyone wins all the time, as a matter of fact, no one wins all the time. Winning is the easy part, losing is really tough. But, you learn more from one loss than you do from a million wins. You learn a lot about sportsmanship.

so true, I hate losing but I believe my opponents never knew that

That's a great post my dear friend @fred703
I appreciate your post and I will wait for every post however this sport related post just a great one I appreciate your every post my dear friend actually this post is helpful for us and I gain knowledge this post..

Keep it up and I wish you gain this platform ..
Sorry carry on your activitives nd I will for your next post.. upvote and resteemit done @fred703

Great sportsmanship is the most vital part of the diversion. Some of the time recreations will get exceptional, warmed and individual;

accordingly, sportsmanship must be learned keeping in mind the end goal to be honed in dilemmas. In the event that competitors weren't impugned for unfit conduct, there would be no rules for others to take after.

That's great one I appreciate your every post keep it up and I will wait for your post..
Upvote and resteemit done..
Best of luck friend @fred703

You demonstrate good sportsmanship when you show respect for yourself, your teammates, and your opponents, for the coaches on both sides, and for the referees, judges, and other officials. ... Sportsmanship is a style and an attitude, and it can have a positive influence on everyone around you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67