You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weed control - using tarps and plastics to prepare ground and control weeds

About two decades ago when I was studying in the province, we used dried grasses to protect strawberries from directly touching the ground and thus avoid rotting. Several years back up to these days when I go back to the province from time to time, I was surprised to see that the farmers are using tarps.

Here is a cropped version of the photo I took from our province sometime last year. They cover the plant beds with tarps.

The primary purpose is again, to keep the fruits from direct contact with the ground. Another purpose is like yours, to minimize weeds. However, I immediately thought of the effect on the fruits.

I asked the farmers if there is any difference on the taste of strawberries where tarps were used. They said the ones with tarps are a little sour than those without tarps. However, they still use the plastic because of greater convenience. That gave me the impression that the plastic tarp may have a different impact or reaction with the fruits. I wonder how it is gonna be with vegetables because some farmers planting vegetables do the same. Maybe you have an observation about that since you plant vegetables?

Sort:  

That is so interesting! I can understand the issues that they add like when you need to rework the ground, it means a lot of labour to remove the tarps and then re-install them, but it doesn't make sense that the taste would differ. The root structure is getting the same nutrients and sunlight as when the tarp isn't there...wonder what it could be.

They were saying that the flow of air or something could have been different with the tarp because air can not flow freely with it and may have effect on the roots and eventually the fruits. I don't know... Though it does not really bother me with strawberries because I eat them with vinegar, not milk like my housemates would do. They are just staring at me when I do that. They can't verbalize I'm weird... 😂

HAHA! Ive never heard of eating them with vinegar....that is different for sure.
But who am I to speak, my wife looks at me weird with the things that I eat together...beans in tomato sauce and jam on toast being one of them :)

Tomato sauce and jam? Ahh, at least that tells me I am not the only weird person on Earth! 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59123.43
ETH 2988.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75