You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ZEAL WITHOUT KNOWLEDGE

There's a lot here to respond to.

I guess I don't think of energy in the same way you describe, but I do feel I understand what you're saying. We do tend to take on at least some of the characteristics of the company we keep. Yet, in the process, we will find ourselves butting up against that and our own individuality, and so we either need to dive deeper to silence our own voice, or we spit ourselves, or get spat out. Now there's a visual!

There are the folks who have the power and pull the strings, and there are those who buy into the propaganda and become useful idiots. There are also the thugs and criminals that just want to pound heads and if they can do it under the guise of a cause, maybe they avoid some unwanted jail time.

I think there are those who know what they're doing but don't care, along with those who don't know and get swept up in it. If they're not seeing change on the national level, take it to the streets. It does trouble me, though, when I start to feel bad for the white supremacists because they're actually peacefully protesting while they're getting knocked around by the Antifa folks in the masks with bats. :)

So, if that's all bound by energies and imparted to those who participate, I can see that. People do tend to become those things that they follow or even rail against. We see that a lot.

As for how I would respond to your questions, I guess it depends on what side of the fence I'm on. Truthfully, though, I'm not phased by much of it, though I probably was more so in the past, and probably could be again. Since I am a member of the LDS Church (and I know you're just using this as an example, so no worries), I can honestly say I've heard a lot worse. Delusional almost sounds nice. :)

That said, though, I believe individuality is very important. In the end, we are all we truly have, regardless of our marital or family status. I guess what I mean by that is, even though we can have support and love from other individuals, we need it first from ourselves. We need to be able to rely upon ourselves. So, I get that.

However, I don't think that belonging to anyone organization is inherently bad. We would need to be picky, and we would need to know where our thoughts, beliefs and desires end and the other begins. In other words, be in it because we want to and because we draw positivity from it, as well as help to give it to others.

Otherwise, I think we can end up very lonely and alone. I happen to be a person who likes to be alone for extended periods of time, but even I have my limits and have to go checking in on my wife and so forth. I don't think we want to be walking away from those communal things that help us stay centered and so forth.

Nature does that for you, it sounds like. Coming and going as I please among people tends to help me with that, as well as time to think and write and create.

Sort:  

Most of us are social creatures and our survival instincts move us to belong. Those are good things. It's just the way it is. What I'm saying is that we become infused with the energy of a group or tribe and when that occurs we frequently cannot recognize that the group-think may be a lie, or may lead us to do things we normally would not. Awareness is the key.

My daughter, @littlescribe is LDS. In fact she and family are moving to Utah in a month. Right now she is just a few miles away. Hate to see her go.

Oh, I completely agree. Awareness is key. It's not about the group, anyway. It's always about the individual. I hear a lot about team this and team that when it comes to work or some other organization, and I don't know. Everyone has to be on the same level, same amount of knowledge of their position, pulling their own weight, etc., for it be about the group.

It is true, though. It is quite easy to fall into group think. It happens a lot around here, which I find sad because we're supposedly trying to get away from that.

Okay. I thought there must be some connection with the LDS church, but I can't remember every conversation we've had, so not remembering if you've mentioned that before to me or not.

I'm sorry to hear she's moving, too. I've lived in Utah for extended periods of time, but never really get used to it. I like the idea of having a larger population of likeminded people living around you, but it has its limits, too. Plus, I'm used to the green. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84