MOTHERS. HAPPY INTERNATIONAL WOMEN'S DAY MOMMY

in #teardrops6 years ago (edited)

My mother always asked me, “What is the most important part of the body?” Over time, I would take a guess at what I felt was the correct Answer.

When I was much younger, I thought hearing was very important to us as humans, so I would say, ‘My ears, Mommy.’
She replied, ‘No. Many people are deaf. But keep thinking about it and I will ask you again very soon.’ A few years passed before she asked me again. Since making my first attempt, I had thought about the correct answer..
So this time I replied her, ‘Mommy, sight is the most important to everybody, so it must be our eyes.’ She looked at me and told me, ‘You are learning very fast my girl, but the answer is not correct because there are many people who cannot see.’
Baffled again, I continued my quest for knowledge and over the years, Mother asked me a couple more times and at all times her answer was, ‘No. But you are getting smarter every year, my child.’ Then one year, my grandpa died. Everybody was hurt. Everybody was crying. Even my dad cried.
I recall that particularly because it was only the second time I saw him cry. My Mommy looked at me when it was our turn to say our last farewell to my Grandpa. She asked me, ‘Do you know the most important body part yet, my dear?’
I was stunned when she asked me this now. I constantly thought this was a game between the both of us. She saw the mix-up on my face and told me, ‘This question is very important. It shows that you have really lived in your life. For every body part you gave me in the past, I have told you were not correct and I have given you a reason why. But today is the day you need to learn this important lesson.’
She looked down at me as only a mother can. I saw her eyes well up with tears. She said, ‘My dear, the most important body part is your shoulder.’ I questioned, ‘Is it because it holds up my head?’
She replied, ‘No, it is because it can hold the head of a loved one or a friend when they cry. Everybody needs a shoulder to cry on sometime in life, my dear. I only hope that you have enough love and friends that you will always have a shoulder to cry on when you need it.’
Then and there I realized the most important body part is not a selfish one. It is made for others and not for yourself. It is sympathetic to the pain of others. People will forget what you said. People will forget what you did. BUT PEOPLE WILL NEVER FORGET HOW YOU MADE THEM FEEL..
Happy international women’s day mom. She went all out to see me through school, made sure there was a cure to every of my illness, always ensured my stomach wasn’t growling cuz of hunger.
She is everything to me.

Woman-displays-the-Nigerian.jpg

Big Kudos to every mom struggling out there to fend for their kids and loved ones. You would reap the fruits of your labour.
Amen.

The Original
Eldahcee

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by eldahcee from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61