Enlightened [teardrops] is this how it ends

in #teardrops6 years ago (edited)

image

He was seated in his room,
Sunken into a divan couch.
His gaze was fixed, yet on nothing.
Teardrops started rolling down his cheeks
The air around him stood still in reverence to his perturbed mind.
Questions run from the tip of his hairs to the tip of his nails and back.
Suddenly he got up and strode into a hall like a ball room,
Whistling down the hall and the sound sizzling back and forth, all just to get his mind off the cliff of discrepancy.
Suddenly he sighed...looking pale and eaten up, he muttered some words...
Is this how it ends?
All my life I've worked, all my life I've invested so much in so little, all my life I've stood for justice and vaguely subdue injustice.
He said again, all my life I lived for others, now leaving me indebted to myself for I never really lived for myself. Yet, no one seems to appreciate it. They all think I'm but a mere geek.
He muttered and said again, I have promised myself never to be moved by the stories of inert pain of these people ever again, but still I always forget about me when someone is in dire pain and need.
Now I'm all alone, nobody to talk to, nobody to listen to, nobody to share my pains with, nobody to bear my burdens with me...
I'm here alone he said, left to be eaten up by guilt of the things I never did for myself, to self destruct thinking about things I've done and got no appreciation for.
Left to be haunted by my promises of better days which might never come.
He looked back through the length of the empty hallway with tears dripping off his face and regret dripping off his cloak and made one last statement,
If this is the end, then this is just the beginning of the end.
After that statement, he left the room walked away and never came back.
Legend has it that he now lives on the top of a mountain where he introspects to find inner peace deep in the heart of the forest where he would never be disturbed again.
And there he found peace not in the midst of humans nor did he find joy based on anybody but he found peace and joy on his own. Then he found a secret about life which is that your happiness should not depend on anyone but you.
He was enlightened...
image credit

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mistacute from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50