TODAY IS BLESSED!

in #teardrops6 years ago

Today has been a great day. Well, it didn’t necessarily start so well for me as I was feeling sick at first due to the cold and rainy weather Uyo is currently facing. The other early morning setback for me occurred when I was in a discussion that I didn’t like. The conversation between me and this person was making my heart beat fast in annoyance because it was directly leading to a situation where my plans for the weekend would be shattered.

photo-1516585427167-9f4af9627e6c.jpg
Source

This situation got me thinking this morning about something that maybe I haven’t been paying attention to- How is the other person feeling right now.

Sometimes, we are so caught up with what benefits us or what makes us happy without necessarily thinking about the next person or those around us. While I was in a bad mood this morning, it just occurred to me that I probably have friends or know people who aren’t also having a great day.

Let me pause to admit that this post might not be too organized or straight forward because I am just documenting down my thoughts and not just trying to write a quality post. I am more concerned about expressing my exact feelings and emotions as at the time I started grooming this thoughts.

Back to my story, I sat down to wonder why I was just on track to have a bad day. Sometimes nothing annoys me most than having a plan shattered, especially I have waited so long to fulfil it. While I sat thinking and letting all the rage flow through my veins, I thought about other.

“What if this is how this person or this person used to feel at a particular time?” I asked myself. Then it occurred to me that there are people out there who are facing worse than I thought I did. I remember speaking with a friend few days back and she told me how she was tired of life and had issues that she thought was solved only to discover there was more. I also had a chat with a friend who said she had heart related issues for a while. I have also chatted with people who either have house rent issues, financial issues, issues relating to life purpose and fulfilment of their personal goals. When all these started coming together, I just knew I wasn’t the only one who has ever had a bad day especially the one that starts from morning.

Why this long story? I just feel it is necessary to share with you guys the importance of making at least one person smile daily just by checking up on them. There are people out there that you know who are going through some form of challenges and the least you can actually do is to brighten their day, week or month even if it was by sharing a simple good will message.

In this world where there are so much distractions and activities going on, I have found out that it is becoming a bit hard to keep up with friends not to even talk about getting new ones. It means reaching out to people once in a while or when they pop into our heads wouldn’t be all that easy, especially if you are the type that has a lot of friend.

Reaching out to 1 person daily would lead to at least 30 people in a month and about 350 people in a year. This is a great number. Asking people how their day is going or what’s up with their lives and leaving a piece of advice or motivation could actually create much impact in your relationship with them.

To end this piece, I would acknowledge that there are a lot of people who haven’t been happy with me of late maybe because I either disappointed them by failing to visit them, call them, send money to them, running an errand for them or doing a job with/for them. In as much as I try as much as possible to apologize to them, sometimes I really wonder if they are also concerned about the things that are happening to me or if they are just concerned of how I am beneficial to them. I just hope you’ve learnt something from this random thought of mine.

Sort:  

This is so thoughtful of you to share, most of the time when my friends remember to call me, I am usually on the brink of giving up...

Taking out time to check on someone can actually save a life or give them motivation to drive on

yes you are right boss. Even i that posted this is still working on it. It doesnt have to be everytime but something as little as 30 minutes daily to reach out to people isn't all that bad..

Hi @morgangreat! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and emotions with us.

I agree with you that quite often we are so caught up in our own issues that we sometimes happen to forget about what's happening with the other person. I guess, in such situations it's best to first have some empathy for your own self so that you are then free to have compassion and empathy for the other person. Change needs to happen from the inside-out.

Also, I guess, what you have shared is something that almost all of us experience in our day-to-day life where we are able to do a few things and not able to do a few others, make some people happy and end up annoying or, maybe, hurting a few others inadvertently.

So, it's very important to understand that it's impossible to make everybody happy all the time. We all have time and energy constraints and quite often a lot of stuff to manage - personal relationships, jobs, businesses, friends, etc. and we tend to feel pulled in different directions at times and this could make us feel overwhelmed. So, once you acknowledge this and start being more loving and empathic towards your own self then you become liberated and free to share that forgiveness, love and compassion with others.

wow this is lovely. First of all i must apologize for the late reply. I knew i was going to come back and read this awesome reply of yours. I actually do enjoy it..

In your first paragraph, I totally agree that before we can eventually help or reach out to others, we must first look at ourselves. you cannot be falling from a cliff and still be expecting to save someone else. both of you would die haha. rather save yourself first and then go save the other person.

we all face different difficulties in life no doubt and i think this is what contributes more into dividing our attention. Truly we can't please everybody or make everybody happy, but like you said in your last sentence....

once you acknowledge this and start being more loving and empathic towards your own self then you become liberated and free to share that forgiveness, love and compassion with others.

I agree with that. Now following you tho

Your influence on people is a checker

Thank you dearest.

I hope to visit your blog immediately and enjoy your influence too 😊

I share your thoughts bro.. It's important to put a smile on someone's face.. You never know the good you are doing

Thank you for sharing a thought with me. It is deeply appreciated..

Thanks for this great lesson boss

thank you too joke

This is so true, we often think we are going through bad situation until we see people going through worst. Thanks for sharing, i will make someone smile tomorrow.

Hey @braide...come and tell me how many people you've made to smile so far. LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78