TEARDROPS: Tears with a sad and bitter taste, a wrong medical diagnosis.

in #teardrops6 years ago (edited)

20180708_184643.jpg

Hello my dear steemians and #uloggers, I hope you are well and have an excellent day. Today I want to share with you a strong medical mistake that although they are very common to spend, they tend to put our world in the head and put an end to our peace and tranquility.

Two days ago my baby started to present fever, which worried me very much for your past medical complications because he had given her pneumonia but was already much better, to start giving fever I got nervous as there was no cause for this decided to take the Clinic immediately for a general check-up, in the clinic I was treated by a medicine resident because it was Sunday and she alone covered the guards of that day, I check it and I order her to do the respective blood and urine tests, when talking with her about her previous illness decided to make a chest radiograph to rule out pneumonia had returned in exams bleeding was revealed that the fever had was due to a viral infection, but the plates (radiographic images) observed something that for me was a Something strange, but when the medicine resident observed it I call it a diaphragmatic hernia.

They will ask themselves and what is this, well I asked myself the same question and when I did not understand, I asked the medicine resident, who told me that she should go to her pediatrician to examine it better and from there it was most likely sent with a child surgeon to operate it because, because of that, it was very likely that he would not breathe normally. This news for me meant an end of the world, because just imagining my 10-month-old being intervened was the worst scenario, I had to wait a full day to communicate with his doctor and explain the situation to what he asked me to do. I would repeat the X-ray to the child but from another angle and send it immediately.

20180709_151831.jpg

The hours I spent waiting for that one day to fulfill myself this radiografia for me were eternal until the day came, we take the exam my little and take you straight to your pediatrician who saw her discard completely the previous diagnosis and bothered much to see how a medical student gave a diagnosis so dangerous and strong for a mother without the supervision or prior consultation of a doctor already specialized. Well I think you might wonder which is a diaphragmatic hernia because the fuss, let me tell you that it is a congenital disease in which most babies are stillborn or do not last many months of life if they suffer from it.

Here is the information I collected while waiting for those endless hours to perform the following medical exam for my son:

What is a diaphragmatic hernia?
A diaphragmatic hernia is a birth defect, which is an abnormality that occurs as a fetus is forming in the mother's uterus. An opening is present in the diaphragm (the muscle that separates the chest cavity from the abdominal cavity). With this type of birth defect, some of the organs that are normally found in the abdomen move up into the chest cavity through this abnormal opening.

Why is a diaphragmatic hernia of concern?
The lungs are developing at the same time as the diaphragm and the digestive system. A diaphragmatic hernia allows abdominal organs to move into the chest cavity, instead of remaining in the abdomen as they are developing. With the heart, lungs, and abdominal organs all taking up space in the chest cavity, the lungs do not have space to develop properly. This underdevelopment of the lungs is called pulmonary hypoplasia.
A diaphragmatic hernia is a life-threatening illness. When the lungs do not develop properly during pregnancy, it can be difficult for the baby to breathe after birth. Healthy lungs have millions of small air sacs (alveoli), which resemble a balloon filled with air. With pulmonary hypoplasia:
There are fewer air sacs than normal.
The air sacs that are present are able to only partially fill with air.
The air sacs deflate easily due to a lack of a lubricating fluid called surfactant.
When these conditions are present, the baby is unable to take in enough oxygen to stay healthy.
The intestines also may not develop properly, especially if they are not receiving enough blood supply while they are developing. A good blood supply is necessary for the intestines to develop correctly, and to be healthy and function properly.
How is a diaphragmatic hernia diagnosed?
After birth, your baby's doctor will perform a physical exam. A chest X-ray is done to look at the abnormalities of the lungs, diaphragm, and intestine. A blood test known as an arterial blood gas is often performed to evaluate the baby's breathing ability.
Other tests that may be performed include:
Blood test for chromosomes (to determine if there is a genetic problem).
Ultrasound of the heart (echocardiogram).

For more information about this disease, check the following link: https://www.stanfordchildrens.org/en/topic/default?id=diaphragmatic-hernia-90-P02357

Well as you can see the information on this condition is not encouraging, and spend the most bitter hours of my life waiting for the results and spill the tears with the saddest and bitterest feeling you can imagine, but thank God it was just a fake diagnosis and everything went well, at first I felt a lot of discomfort with the resident of the clinic and I even thought about going to talk with her but then I thought, we are all human and have the right to make mistakes and she is a student who is still in training and only I hope you continue your teaching and learning path, become an excellent professional and do not make more mistakes like this, I can only thank God again for not allowing this to be true and thank my family who supported me at all times , my son is my greatest blessing and I love him with all my heart and I always hope to be by his side watching him and guiding him.

And that the next tears that spill and share with you are happiness and laughter, until my next #tear.

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00