Boracay and My Mom

in #teardrops6 years ago

1929195_58634507170_3135797_n.jpg

It has been 2 weeks since Boracay was closed down. But it has been 9 years since I have been to Boracay. It was my first and last time. So was my mom's.

By stroke of luck or fate, I was just walking around the mall during some exhibit when someone approached me and told me I can win accommodation to Boracay by just filling up a coupon. I usually ignore people like these but luckily, this time I obliged.

I was called a few weeks later to listen to a presentation for an hour then they'll give me free accommodation, regardless of whether I purchased some travel shares or not. I listened for a grueling hour, with no plans of buying shares, just for the free accommodation.

So I got it, I won free accommodations for two in Boracay. I was initially thinking of bringing one of my sisters or someone else. But I suddenly thought of my mom. She has not had any vacation for a while. I didn't think she would be allowed or if she would want to come with me but I was decided. This would be an awesome mother-daughter bonding for us.

When I told my mom the news, she became excited. She said she never even thought of ever having the chance to be in Boracay. Now, the only problem was if she would have the chance to have an off for 3 days from work. But then, all the stars aligned and she was permitted to go.

The tickets I won were only for accommodations so I had to book the flights and spend some for food and other activities. My brother was so good at booking tickets that we got cheap one-way fare for 400 pesos (less than 10 dollars) each (piso fare) and I was able to book the cheapest flights back at about 1000 pesos (20 dollars) each. It was for an airline that just crashed but then my mom said it was okay since they probably can't afford to crash yet again.

Everything was set. We were both very excited. I was excited for that mother-daughter bonding we never really had before. The first night was a Friday night and I wanted to go out and look for some night festivities. But my mom was tired and she just wanted to watch some TV. So I watched with her while we were lying in bed. Then, later that night, she was the one who wanted to go out but I was the one tired already. So much for Day 1.

The second day we went out to try some of the activities in Boracay. I was so shocked at how expensive everything was. It felt like every move, every activity needed some whopping cash. We first tried the boat tours for snorkeling and going island-hopping. It was really fun!

1934558_117561987170_4091305_n.jpg

The next that we tried was my most memorable experience with my mom. We tried parasailing. We were both hoisted up the air by a boat in a parachute. It was scary at first then exhilarating then calm and peaceful. We were up in the air, only me and my mom. We didn't talk and she was looking far in the distance. But I looked at my mom and I was so happy that we were together. This was a rare occasion that we had this precious moment, up the heavens, floating like angels at peace. My mom looked at peace. The Philippines was so beautiful. If I could extend this moment forever, I would. But then, I felt our abrupt descent and we even plunged a bit into the waters.

1929195_58630577170_966508_n.jpg

I also wanted to try jet-skiing but my mom didn't want to. I did not want to do it without her. Even if it was very expensive, I wanted her to have the best vacation she ever had. But she still didn't want. So I just took a picture with the jet ski.

1929195_58629247170_7325795_n.jpg

At sunset, we enjoyed the breathtaking view together, sitting on the sand in front of our hotel. That night, we finally went around to experience the night life in Boracay. Unfortunately, I didn't know that there was nothing much going on that time since it was off-peak season. We just ate somewhere and went back to the hotel.

Back at the hotel, my mom watched TV again. I wanted to talk to her, have some girl bonding. But I didn't know how or what to say. That was us. Our relationship revolved around simply watching late-night TV together, laughing in sync. And that was enough for me. My mom was happy, and so was I. So much for Day 2.

We did not do much on the 3rd day since it was time to leave. We packed early, went for a satisfying English breakfast, then walked the whole stretch of the island barefooted. At some point, we stopped and I felt she was getting tired but her determination to walk the whole stretch was commendable.

1929195_58634522170_6091646_n.jpg

I had my hair braided and we took some more pictures. Unfortunately, my mom was the one taking all the pictures, she was not really fond of having her pictures taken. The cover picture was the picture I took on the 3rd day because I loved how the bag, the boats and my mom all fit in the beautiful picture. It seemed like she was going somewhere and didn't even look back. And she did.

A month after we went to Boracay, my mom was in pain. I felt guilty for having her want to walk so far on the 3rd day. Then, in May, she was bedridden. 3 months later, she passed away because of breast cancer. That was August 9, 2009, barely 5 months when she was all okay. We didn't know it was cancer because she kept it from us. We only knew when it was too late.

Boracay 2009.jpg

I am hesitant to go back to Boracay because that place will always be that special bonding place between me and my mom. I don't want to tarnish my memory of her in that island. Boracay will always have that special place in my heart because of mom.

I was thinking, if I had not won that accommodation, I would not have treated my mom to this place. It was destiny and I am extremely grateful. I will truly have regretted her passing if I had not had the chance to do something very special for her. I know, because I had regrets with my dad's passing, including not being able to say goodbye or "I love you." I am proud though that I had been a good daughter to my parents to the best of my ability. No regrets.

It is mother's day on Sunday, and my mom is gone. But my memory of her in Boracay will always remain in my heart. For those whose parents are still alive, make every moment count. Do your best to make them happy, make them proud. Because you'll never know when it's their time.

1929195_58629192170_3588719_n.jpg

To my mom, Nana, Happy Mother's Day there in heaven! I love you and Tata! I hope I make you proud.

Steemit Logo Latest.gif

Sort:  

Your story is so touching. God bless you dear. I will definitely start spending more time with my parents!

Yes, please! God blesses you too!

You really did have a great day. It's a good thing to catch fun sometimes. I did have a great day too. I visited so many places.

That's awesome! Thanks for your comment.

Wonderful vacations, true angels in heaven.

Yes, my parents are angels in heaven now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65