I AM NOT MY HAIR

in #teardrops6 years ago (edited)

FB_IMG_1533920190943.jpg

Is that Maggie? what happened to her hair? ha ha ha haaa

what did she do to her hair? i dont know it looks crazy.

I like it, i might do that hairstyle.
Eerrmmmm, NOPE! i woudn't go that far. It looks like a big red ball!
I know right! , ha ha ha.. Its too much, too bright, too kinky. I love my straight and silk hair.

More often a source of so much laughter , giggles and stares. always a stand out, a point out.

Oi, did you cut your hair? it looks neat now, You definitely look much better with this style than the one you had before.
uh noo, you look like a Man, with your hair short, not. Womanly at all.

FB_IMG_1533920146204.jpg

Ow..did you color it ? it does not look good on your dark skin at all, much better you use bright colors to bring out your black beauty.
oh is that RED? Wow it looks crazy., too bright for your dark skin.

Do you wash it? is it heavy? does it SMELL? Can i touch it?
Oh wait, is it your real hair this time or wig?

Why do i always have to justify that
"I AM NOT MY HAIR,
I AM NOT YOUR EX -PEC -TATIONS,
I AM A SOUL THAT LIVES WITHIN.."

You look like Bob Marley,
You now look like Imelda Marcos

Hhhhmmmm? Let me guess? , Does the way i wear my hair make me a better person? does it make me a better friend? Does it determine my integrity?

If i wana shave it close, or off like a South African beauty, to reveal my sparkling bald head like a full moon shining, or
rock it on locks like Bob Marley,
curls and waves like Beyonce or plain straight,
There is nothing wrong with that, coz it doesnt take a bit away from the soul that i got.
Its not what's on my head, but what's underneath.

I AM NOT MY HAIR, OR YOUR EXPECTATIONS..!!!

FB_IMG_1533922922591.jpg

I think other races should stop trying to figure out a black woman's hair. Its diverse and very difficult to maintain, Did i mention EXPeNsive??
Yasss that too. Hence the extentions to save our selves the hassle. Otherwise i would go out looking like this.
IMG20180809221217.jpg

Because this is My REALITY!
IMG20180809221313.jpg

Bottom line.
Let people be who they are, or want to be. you may never understand the reason we wear extentions unless you go through the struggle.

And when i manage to put the steel wool of a mess together in an Afro crown, please do not ridicule me or impose your personal beuty standards. One must never be put through a situation where she must explain her naturalness state of affair to nay sayers!

Yep, one of those in the moment rants, You can call it black girl problem,dont worry, that will be totally Culture appropriate.,!

Sort:  

My African queen

👸👸👸👸

Everyone is unique, thanks for posting this sis.

Posted using Partiko Android

Please try to post through ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99