WHAT IS LIFE? A Tribute to my Sunday School Teacher

in #teardrops6 years ago

sweet1.png

My prayer for him is that he is asleep in the Lord!

He's been through pain and tears for many months. Yet, on the bed of pains, he would not give-up his faith. He would rather die the death of believer than compromise his faith for healing.

He was a devout man. A teacher, and indeed, my Sunday School Teacher in the Teen's class then. A disciplinarian. He was bold, courageous and will always tell you the truth at the face.

A husband of one and a father of one. He was a music minister, and a defender of the truth.

burial-etimenam.png

What is Life?

Life are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes according to James 4: 14. T. D. Jakes describes life to be a short dash between two dates. The short dash (-) describes all the achievements, pains, tears, joys, sorrows, sadness and legacies.

The life times of a man, not minding how long or short, well or poor, fruitful or barren, influential or influenced is always designated by a near insignificant pause between two memory dates. Though books and encyclopedias record the legacies imprinted by great men, the short dash or two letter word “to” between the birth and date dates represent all the accomplishments - good or bad. Except where it becomes a matter of concern, a very few care to read about or are told the stories (legacies) of men who lived. How brief a description of life well lived with just a dash! This pointer should remind us how few the days of man are and the need to live well.

In the words of John Piper

Time is precious. We are fragile. Life is short. Eternity is long. Every minute counts. Oh, to be a faithful steward of the breath God has given me. Three texts resound in my ears: “Redeem the time” (Ephesians 5:16 ); “It is required of stewards that one be found trustworthy” (1 Corinthians 4:2); “His grace toward me was not in vain; but I labored even more than all of them, yet not I, but the grace of God with me” (1 Corinthians 15:10 ).

Surely God means for our minutes on earth to count for something significant. Paul said, “In the day of Christ I will have reason to glory because I did not run in vain nor toil in vain” (Philippians 2:16). In the same way, I have good hope from the Lord that my “labor is not in vain in the Lord” (1 Corinthians 15:58).


This is a pointer for everyone to ensure that he or she lives his/her life well. It should be the desire of all to die (sleep) in the Lord. Here are the benefits:

  • For those who sleep in the Lord, there is a hope for a resurrection when the immortality shall give way to immortality.

  • For those who sleep in the Lord, they will first be caught-up in the air to meet with the Lord before those who are still alive at that time.

To my teacher, Mr. Etimenam Akpan, I refuse to tear for you again. I am consoled that though your years were few, you left a legacy on the sands of time and you will not be forgotten. The skies of Saturday, 9th June, 2018 was dark here on earth, but I hope you are resting in the Lord's bosom.

I pray your wife and daughter be consoled.

I am certain and sure, that death has been swallowed up by the sacrifice of the cross.

You reader, how will your death be, what will you be remembered for?

Think!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60953.94
ETH 2920.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57