You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My worst nightmare.... Are my photos all gone?

in #tech5 years ago

Oh.. I usually keep different copies of my files: All new files stay on my internal hard drive at least until I have backed them up to the cloud (Amazon Photos offers unlimited free Raw storage for prime customers), a copy of all photos goes to my external HDD and I have 4SD cards with a total of 128gb that last me for some weeks without overwriting. At home I make a copy to a second hard drive. Despite that, I had data loss once when my laptop broke, my HDD stopped working, the SD card was corrupted and I didn't have fast internet to make a full cloud backup! Luckily I was able to restore some data from the SD card at first and when I got home from my trip I was actually able to fix the HDD - for some reason it made any windows computer freeze when plugged in but was still accessible from Unix systems.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63672.48
ETH 3319.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91